books · discussions · Shar

Books and Series I don’t Ever Plan to Read

There are obviously plenty of books in the world I’m never going to read—for example, medical textbooks or random erotica books or biographies of Abraham Lincoln—but that’s fairly obvious. This post isn’t about these books. This post is about YA books, most of which I think are popular, but I will not read. Because I like to be controversial like that.

DSC07858

  1. Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

I actually read the first book about two years ago and mainly liked it. But it’s a really long series and I don’t want to commit, plus I’ve already been spoiled about Aelin. For some reason I just don’t want to read it?

DSC07984

  1. A Court of Thorns and Rose series by Sarah J. Maas

I know a lot of people really love this, but I just don’t want to read it. One of my friends said all the sex made her kind of uncomfortable and I’d rather not read that, plus it’s actually NA and not YA, and for ever post on instagram I’ve seen about how good these are, there’s another one talking about bad representation and erasure. So, no.

21807284-_sx540_

  1. Magnus Chase series by Rick Riordan

I just don’t want to commit to this series, basically. (Apparently, I have commitment issues). I liked Percy Jackson when I read it, I liked The Heroes of Olympus, I liked The Red Pyramid (although I don’t plan on finishing that series either), I liked the Trials of Apollo and I do want to finish it, but I guess I’m kind of growing out of Rick Riordan. (I mean, my eight year old sister loves him). And there are just books I’d rather read.

the-sword-of-summer-rick-riordan

  1. Wolves of Mercy Falls series by Maggie Stiefvater

You can read my full rant review here, but I think it is NEVER, NEVER a good idea to give someone meningitis. Even if you have a good reason for it. Even if you think it’s a good idea. It’s not.

Shanti tells me the series improves in subsequent books, but I just don’t want to find out. I liked The Raven Cycle, and I LOVED The Scorpio Races, but I just don’t want to read this one.

mercy_falls_covers

  1. Alex and Eliza by Melissa de la Cruz

This is, in all probability, a perfectly good book. But I just don’t want to read it. I really like the songs from Hamilton, and I think it deserves a lot of its success but I feel like this book is basically only going to sell because of people liking Hamilton. Like, the author probably wouldn’t have thought of writing it if Hamilton wasn’t that successful. And it just kind of seems like the book is making money because of Hamilton, and that it wouldn’t if Hamilton didn’t exist. And for some reason, this really puts me off a YA version of Alexander and Eliza Schulyer’s love story. Go figure.

alex-eliza-cover-galleycat

  1. Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee (because Atticus is racist + it might not have been obtained very ethically?), the rest of the Skullduggery Pleasant series by Derek Land (too long, not interested enough), the second half of the Maximum Ride series by James Patterson (I was willingly spoiled).

DSC07980

What are some books you don’t ever plan on reading? Why? Do you disagree with any on my list?

 

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Books and Series I don’t Ever Plan to Read

  1. I agree with Go Set a Watchman & I definitely think it was obtained unethically, so whenever I even see it in a bookstore I just feel weird & idk…icky about it. Just really put off.

    I’ve never read the ACOTAR series (or anything by SJM), but they get soooo much hype that I am starting to get intrigued and think I should. I just hope it isn’t a let down, which sometimes happens when books are super super hyped

    Like

    1. My friend really wants me to read the ACOTAR series and claims you can just skim the icky bits. But it’s not a priority for me. Anyway. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

      1. You’re welcome! I’ll probably look into starting the ACOTAR series soon, tbh. I don’t mind sex scenes and romance and that sort of thing in books. I definitely feel much more uncomfortable with the possible unethical obtainment of Go Set a Watchman than I do with that sort of stuff! Haha. But I totally get that it isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, for sure.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard a lot of reviews saying similar things. But I also have some IRL and some internet friends who adore the series so I’m confused?

      Like

  2. Team of Rivals is really good though!

    Count me in as one who will also never read any Harry Potter.

    Definitely nothing from the Inheritance Cycle either.

    I will never read another Dan Brown book. One was enough.

    Like

  3. This is all basically me, except for Magnus Chase, because I bought that one at a moment of weakness, and by golly, I AM GONNA GET MY MONEY’S WORTH. But yeah. For me, none of the listed books really hold my interest?

    I will note, though: whether or not Go Set a Watchman exists or not, it’s important to remember that Atticus is racist. And Scout is racist. And so is every other white person in that book. Because even if Atticus was progressive for his time, it’s also certain that he was harboring certain biases and attitudes that were par for the culture he grew up in. Just sayin’. 😛 (And like I love Atticus, too. He made that book one of my favorites. But it does no good to ignore the problematic pieces of the books we love.)

    Like

    1. I am a firm believer in reading books that you own. They’re not just there for decoration!
      I really should read To Kill A Mockingbird, since I like to think it’s on of my favourites. You’re right, though; even if Atticus’ views were ahead of his time, that doesn’t mean they aren’t racist. If I ever do reread I’ll try to pay more attention to that. Thanks for bringing it up 🙂

      Like

  4. I don’t want to read Go Set A Watchman either because I totally think it was obtained unethically. 😒 And it kind of kiiiills my heart to think of Atticus being racist. I mean. He’s so wonderful in TKAM. I named my dog after him!!! So yeah that one I’ll probably never read.

    HOWEVER I CRY BECAUSE SHIVER IS SO GOOD AND HAS MY HEART. <3😂 But each to their own haha.

    Like

    1. I think I would have been fine with Shiver if it wasn’t for the meningitis…. this is probably something to do with the fact that my mother is a public health physician. I mean, I think Go Set a Watchman would probably be interesting to read, but I just don’t want to.

      Like

  5. I don’t plan on reading the Wolves of Mercy Fall series either, or the rest of the Maximum Ride series. I might find myself reading the Skulduggery Pleasant series at some point but it isn’t high on my priorities list at all. I still enjoy reading the Magnus Chase series just because they are so quick for me to read and I like seeing where the characters have gone.

    Like

    1. Yay, we agree! I guess I would enjoy Magnus Chase if I ever read it but I just don’t feel like I need to. Hmmm. I liked reading The Trials of Apollo because of all the Heroes of Olympus cameos. They were great 🙂

      Like

  6. Your reasons for not reading these books are really good ones! Committing to a long series is indeed a weighty matter.I am not planning on reading any of these books either. There are so many books out there, and we can’t read everything.
    A popular book series that I will probably never read is The Hunger Games. I hear that they are really good, but I am content with the movies, which, as an avid bookworm is kind of shocking for me. If I have questions about the story I can just ask one of the walking Hunger Games encyclopedias in my life.

    Like

    1. Ooh the Hunger Games! That’s controversial! I’ve read the series, but I don’t think I’ll reread because I just don’t feel the need, frankly. I get that it’s amazing and stuff, but I think there are things I’ll enjoy more out there. It’s good to have walking, talking Hunger Games encyclopaedias in your life, though. You never know when you might need them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Your dress looks so nice in that picture!

    I don’t want to read any Sarah J Maas books either. Especially the A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

    I can understand why you don’t want to read Go Set a Watchman. It was okay, but not as good as To Kill a Mockingbird.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I really like this dress, but it’s strapless and so I don’t wear it that much. One time I wore it to school then almost tripped on it and … exposed myself. XD Anyway.
      I’ve heard a lot about ACOTAR, even though I know a few people who really like it. I was planning to read Go Set a Watchman when it came out, but I never got around to it and now I just don’t want to.

      Like

  8. Mine is probably the MOST unpopular, but I will never read Harry Potter. There are a myriad of reasons, but a major one being that I don’t feel the need to read a book AFTER I have seen the adaptation. I am hard pressed to believe that all the major plot points were not included in the film. I will read and then watch an adaptation, but not the other way around. No mystery there for me.

    Like

    1. You’ll NEVER read Harry Potter *faints in horror*.
      *recovers* Just kidding. That’s super controversial, not gonna lie. I love Harry Potter, and you’re right, basically all the important plot points are in the movies. In that sense, it’s pretty accurate. But the best part of the books is all the world building details, like how their homework is measured in feet or what they do in Hogsmeade or how they campaign for House-elf rights. Those parts aren’t in the movies. Anyway, I can see why you wouldn’t want to read it after watching. I’ve done that once or twice and I can’t get the movie interpretation out of my head and interpret it myself 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh this is a great post, Shar! I’m still a bit undecided about reading the Sarah J. Maas books, mainly because they are long series and so very hyped that I just, I don’t know, I lost interest in it a little bit…. But well, maybe I’ll want to read TOG someday anyway ahah 🙂

    Like

    1. SJM books are super hyped so on one hand I want to find out what that’s all about… but I’ve seen enough reviews to think that it’s not for me. I started a 7 book series a few weeks ago but not all the books are out yet and it just seems so scary and so I don’t know if I can be interested. #help

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A 7 BOOK SERIES? Wow, that’s commitment 😂 big series like that always scare me a bit, so I get the feeling…Well, maybe you will fall in love with it and it won’t feel like a commitment at all! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

