books · Shar · tags

The Reader Confession Tag

 

Hi Virtually Readers! How was your Easter? I’m feeling a bit lazy, so I’m going to do this tag that Marie posted a few weeks ago. Also I felt really lazy with photos so I just used my bed sheet  let’s be honest.  First I’m going to show you photos of the Easter eggs I made last week because #proud.

We made Easter eggs in two ways. Some we boiled and then drew on with crayon. Because the eggs were hot, the crayon melted. They looked like this:

The others we blew out (used the insides for muffins) then dipped in dye and painted with water colour pencils. They looked like this:

I’m also really happy because I gave up sugar for Lent (I’ll admit I cheated a few times #oopsies) and now I can eat sugar again so YAY. My family also made delicious chocolate eggs that weren’t very photogenic but were delicious. Anyway, on to the questions!

Have you ever damaged a book?

Yes. The worst time was when I puked on Artemis Fowl 2, which was right beside my bed one Christmas eve when I suddenly got sick. I’ve also torn pages (usually by accident, but there was this one classic that was very old and I knew I wouldn’t reread so I’ve been turning all its pages into art.) Recently I’ve got a tiny smudge of Vegemite on Gemina and a bit of chocolate (while making Easter eggs) on Dreams of Gods and Monsters.

Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

Actually, the Artemis Fowl I mentioned actually belonged to the son of one of my mother’s friends. He did not want it back. Actually we still have it since one of my parents managed to wipe off the puke. It doesn’t look or smell bad or anything, miraculously.

DSC06821
SEE? IT’S FINE!

 How long does it take you to read a book?

In terms of hours, it depends on the fluffiness (i.e how complex the language and plot is). Generally about 4 hours, I think. In terms of days/weeks, it depends how much I’m enjoying it and how much school stuff I have going on and how tired I am, but generally about 4 days.

Are there books you haven’t finished?

Yes! I haven’t finished The Star Touched Queen, although I plan to at some point, and Sabriel, much to Shanti’s consternation. Recently I started The Winner’s Crime, which I want to read, but I haven’t finished it yet because my ereader broke so I have to get an app on my phone which I haven’t yet. I’m also partway through Bright Smoke, Cold Fire on audiobook but I’m very slow because I keep forgetting about it.

DSC06824

What hyped and popular books haven’t you liked?

Well, I don’t plan on rereading Divergent or The Hunger Games in the near future. One time was enough for me. And I also wasn’t a huge fan of Throne of Glass, so I don’t plan on finishing that series. Also I’ve tired of the Selection series and it was just silly and I don’t plan on trying to read after The One. While I’m doing this, I’ll say that I think Shakespeare is massively, massively overrated and I don’t get why school is obsessed with him.

DSC06822

Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

Sometimes I feel ashamed for rereading too much.

How many books do you own?

That specifically belong to me alone? – about 6

That I share with Shanti/our family? — A lot. On the bookshelf in our room alone there’s about 170, plus other bookshelves in our house.

Are you a fast or slow reader?

Probably fastish, but I’m slower than Shanti.

Do you like to buddy read?

Never done it unless reading a book with your classmates for English counts. Maybe I would like it?

Do you read better in your head or aloud?

In my head, because it’s easier. I often mispronounce words I’ve only read. #readerproblems

If you could only own one book, which one would you choose?

AHHHHHHH I don’t know. I would probably go for the Harry Potter series because it’s long and good, or if just one book, The Book Thief. BUT I CAN’T REALLY CHOOSE.

I tag:

Marie didn’t really tag me, but I’m tagging Rain@Ivyclad Ideas, Alexa@Summer Snowflakes and Holly@Nut Free Nerd.

 Could you choose only one book? Are you any good at reading out loud? Have you ever damaged a book? Are you a fast or slow reader? 

11 thoughts on “The Reader Confession Tag

  1. Whew, I gave up sugar too for Lent and then went kind of crazy on Easter (chocolate!!!) 😜 And wow, Clara was just gushing over Sabriel the other day, but I don’t really know if I plan on reading it. Lovely Easter eggs though–we’ve never drained ours, and I am impressed!!
    ~Hermione

    Like

    1. Why thank you! Sometimes my sister gushing over books puts me off reading them for some reason. And yeah, on Easter I ate quite a few sweet things but I felt like I learned how to not eat sugar as much. Let’s see if it lasts though….

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve dropped a book off my verandah before and it landed in the mud. I’M STILL TRAUMATISED. 😭 And the other day while taking bookstagram photos, I accidentally dumped a load of hardcovers on top of some dust jackets I’d taken off…they got totally squashed and creased and like is there a bookworm jail of shame? Because I need to move into it.😭😭

    *whispers* Don’t feel ashamed for re-reading!! Books are meant to be enjoyed and that’s the important thing right?! 🎉🎉

    Like

    1. Enjoying books is an important thing. But the other week I recommended this book in the library to someone I know, and she liked it, and then she was like ‘oh I saw you and Shanti have checked this out a lot’ and then I felt very judged, although it was probably not intentional.
      *Sends you to the bookworm jail of shame*

      Like

  3. Yay, I’m so happy you did this tag! Your Easter Eggs look sooo cute, wish I had the patience to do that haha 🙂
    I get it about The Selection series, I don’t have the energy to finish it either, I stopped around The One I think, I didn’t really enjoy the new main character and…I don’t know if I’ll ever go on with this series. And choosing one book is the WORST THING EVER, it’s impossible haha.

    Like

    1. I rather liked my easter eggs too! The Selection was relatively amusing, but not enough to make me want to finish the series. In all those ‘choose one book’ questions, I can’t basically XD

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel the same way about Divergent and The Hunger Games! I enjoyed them well enough when I read them the first time around and then I had to reread Hunger Games for a class once, but other than that I don’t plan on rereading them anytime soon. I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels this way!
    Also, thanks so much for tagging me!! 🙂

    Like

    1. You read The Hunger Games for a class? Like, you studied? WHAT IS THIS? I think some people adore THG and Divergent with all their hearts, and I liked them, but not that much, I suppose 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

