books · discussions · Uncategorized

My Reading Challenge

Hi Virtually Readers! It’ll be a short post today because I have a lot of schoolwork and also very sore arms because I went rock climbing this afternoon. I’m so busy, in fact, that I haven’t had time to schedule already written blogposts *facepalm*. Anyway, today is the first day of Lent, which is the 40 day period leading up to Easter. Christians often challenge themselves to go without something for Lent, and I’m going to tell you about what I’m doing without. Unsurprisingly, it’s related to reading.

lentchallenge.PNG

So, what’s your challenge? I’m not *gasp* going to read any fiction. Before you all freak out (if you were ever that invested to begin with, haha), I will still listen to YA audiobooks because I listen to about 1 audiobook a month anyway, and want to finish the one I’m on. And I’m also going to read classics, which for these purposes are defined as literature which is somehow canonical and also over 50 years old. Obviously, stuff I have to read for class or other activities does not count.

Why are you doing this? Well, I read a lot of YA. And I love YA, don’t get me wrong. But I’m also curious about history and psychology and people, and this will mean that, instead of prioritising YA literature over everything, I’ll get a chance to read some books that I wouldn’t otherwise.

What does this mean for Virtually Read? Basically nothing. If I read anything interesting, I might post a review here, but otherwise I have heaps of YA book reviews that I can use for the blog, and some posts pre-written, and I’ll still be thinking about YA and interacting with the YA blookunity. You will see more nonfiction stuff on Twitter and goodreads, though.

What are you going to read? That’s a great question, imaginary person. Some of the books on my TBR, though I won’t necessarily get to them all, are

  • This Amazing Book is Not on Fire by Dan Howell and Phil Lester
  • I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
  • Smart Girls by Shauna Pomerantz
  • An Edible History of the World by Michael Standage
  • Here I Stand by Amnesty International
  • The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion
  • The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat by Oliver Sacks.

Would you like my recommendations? Heck yes.

How will you survive? By reading interesting things that I care about and learning new things and just seeing how I go.

So what do you think? Could you survive without fiction? And do you have any suggested reading for me?

 

19 thoughts on “My Reading Challenge

  1. This is a great Lent challenge! I think I could survive without fiction for 40 days, but it’d be super difficult. Recommendation-wise, I would recommend Stephen King’s On Writing if you’re interested in literary craft, and books like Fast Food Nation are awesome too. Lots of good biographies. Since it seems like you’re including classics, Les Miserables, Fahrenheit 451, and Pride & Prejudice are incredible. Best of luck 😀

    – Eli @ The Silver Words

    Like

    1. I am finding it pretty hard so far. I’ve never read Stephen King, but maybe I should try it. I have another book on writing as well. I included the classic caveat just in case I get desperate haha. I love P & P and I NEED to read Farenheit 451. There are so many boks out there!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wooooow I admire you for this! I could not do it.😂 I just…I wouldn’t be able to function without stuffing my brain with magic and dragons and things. Although I don’t mind the odd autobiography! I think they can be super interesting. Good luck!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s just interesting to do something different. Ooh, what are your favourite autobiographies? I want to know! I think I’m going to do a Harry Potter reread when I’m done to help me in my recovery.

      Like

  3. oh wow, I have a couple of historical non-fiction on my shelf and I’m actually scared to read them because I’ve never read non-fiction. But someday I hope. Maybe before the year ends. Good luck with the this challenge! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jared! I hope you can survive without fantasy! Magic is life (but real life is life too, and I’m trying to remember that as I read nonfiction)

      Like

  4. Good luck with this challenge! I’m not sure that I’ll ever be able to do that, so I wish you luck. I’d also love to hear some of the books that you’ll read that are non-fiction, it’ll be interesting to see what books you come across.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ohh best of luck for this challenge, Shanti! I don’t know if I could do that, I read a lot of fiction and rarely ever non-fiction. I hope you’ll do some great discoveries, at least great enough that you’ll want to talk about it on here, I’m curious about it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

