features · shanti · writing

Writing Goals for 2017 (Beautiful Books)

Hi Virtually Readers! Today I’m away holidaying, hopefully feeling warm, but you get to read about my writing goals for 2017. I’m linking up with Sky and Cait for their Beautiful Books feature.

bb-redone

1. What were your writing achievements last year?

Um, I edited Entreaty in June and it somehow grew by 8000 words? But I really need to spend some time thinking about the plot, because I basically didn’t change that. I also wrote 3 short stories for fun, and several more for classes, won a writing award at school, and did some more dabbling in poetry

2. What’s on your writerly “to-do list” for 2017?

I really want to finish the first draft of Lighter Places. I also want to keep on working on poetry, try some flash fiction, maybe write a short play, and continue working on non-school writing (though I’m taking 3 english classes atm= it’s really hard to tell what’s for school and what isn’t.) I also need to read through Entreaty again to fix tiny things and hopefully get to a place where I’m comfortable sharing it and getting feedback, because I’ve put so much time into this story that I don’t want to abandon it.

3. Tell us about your top-priority writing projects for this year!

Lighter Places for sure. I’ve only written 6000 words so far, but I really want to finish the first draft. It’s about a girl called Elin who is trying to balance what she sees as important with what she loves/is good at, and also make friends and survive high school. (that’s also my goal, to survive high school)

4. How do you hope to improve as a writer? Where do you see yourself at the end of 2017?

I really want to get better at editing, and also find time for fun projects, and accept others help and be able to give effective feedback. I just want to still be wrting at the end of 2017; I’m not really sure where I’ll be.

5. Describe your general editing process.

Hmm, I’m not experienced enough in this, but I read through the whole thing and make notes, and look at my comments from when I was writing the draft, then go through chronologically (for novels like Entreaty) or parts where I’ve spotted plot holes or problematic dialogue (for short stories), and try to make it better.

6. On a scale of 1-10, how do you think this draft turned out?

Which draft? Um, the second draft of Entreaty gets a 6, because the writing was better, but the plots wasn’t.

7. What aspect of your draft needs the most work?

The plot. It needs to be more complex and mysterious, and the characters need to have more clear motivations. I also have no idea how to do the ending—this time round, it was sort of violent, which is the opposite of the point of the story, so I need to fix that somehow.

8. What do you like the most about your draft?

I don’t know—I think that I developed Asli’s character and his family more?

9. What are your plans for this novel once you finish editing? More edits? Finding beta readers? Querying? Self-publishing? Hiding it in a dark hole forever?

I’m seriously contemplating the dark hole option…but I just need some other people to read it (maybe Shar and my mum or dad?) especially to work on the plot.

10. What’s your top piece of advice for those just finished writing a first draft?

Don’t forget why you love this story, why you spent hours on it. Don’t forget that you—and it—are worth it. (that’s so trite, but I think it’s also true?)

What do you think of my writing goals? And do you have any goals for this year?

 

4 thoughts on “Writing Goals for 2017 (Beautiful Books)

  1. I don’t have many writing goals for the year but I want to finish typing up my story that has been in my notebook.I also want to finish two stories that I’ve been working on for AGES (since I was 13/14) and maybe start on another one. It sucks that I get ideas easily but can’t write them out.

    Like

    1. Those sound like good goals, Grace! It’s very satisfying when you finish projects that you’ve been working on for ages. It’s so annoying to be filled with ideas and less time to write, I agree.

      Like

Leave a Reply

