book review · books · Shar

Review: More Than This

As usual, Shar has been running around like a headless chicken (piano exam+drama production in one week= utter craziness) , but here is a review of a book good for the lovers of creepiness.

dsc00021Title: More Than This

Author: Patrick Ness

Genre: YA dystopia?

Themes: Dependence on technology, aloneness, friendship, living in the apocaplypes, finding out that your whole life is a lie a lot.

I went into this book with no idea what it was about. I was surprised. The creepiness reminded me a lot more of The Knife of Never Letting Go (got to finish that series) than of The Rest of Us Just Live Here. I still don’t know how I feel about it, tbh.

Summary: Seth Dies. Then he wakes up in an eery version of his childhood home: hot, dusty, and some kind of real. He’s got to work out why he’s there, what the dreams he’s having are, and if there’s anyone else in this wasteland.

I don’t even know how to describe how weird a novel with a significant portion only featuring one character is. The story is told in 3rd person, which worked… in making the book more creepy, at the vey least. The first part had a lot of description, not much plot, and importantly, plenty of backstory. To be honest, I couldn’t stop reading it because I wanted a non-creepy ending. I did not get this exactly, but I did get answers that left me with more questions.

So, the characters. There are characters other than Seth, and they were awesome, but I’m not going to discuss them because spoilers and stuff. But know they were cute and funny and heroic. Seth is a traumatised cinnamon roll, like a very bruised one. When he was a kid, something happened to his brother that he was kind of responsible for, and his family is (was) very messed up? Hes friends (were/) awesome/terrible, and considering the trauma he’s been through and weirness of the situation he copes pretty well. I guess he was a round character, but I didn’t really connect to him very much.

Like I said, there was a lot of description, especially in the first part, but the setting needs and deserves it. I got such a full sense of this dystopian, werid setting that both functioned and didn’t. I didn’t know which world was real, what The Driver was, who the other characters were, or anything really, but I was riveted. I wanted alllll the answers , and I got some. The ending=Seth, why, but I can deal.

Plot: 4/5

Setting: 5/5

Themes: 5/5

Characters: 4/5

Total: 4/5

Have you read this? Do you like creepy books or not? (me=no thanks) What have you been up to recently?

11 thoughts on “Review: More Than This

  1. I haven’t read this one, but I’m definitely intrigued! I kinda like creepy, kinda don’t??? It depends. Like, I don’t like creepy just for the sake of creepy, but if there’s a reason and I get explanations, then I’m normally pretty into it.

    Nice review!

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbosityreviews.com

    Like

    1. I guess I could say my creepy-enjoyment depends, but I have a very low tolerance for high levels of creepy (when I was younger, I’d need my mother to read every scary scene from my book to me aloud, lol). I’m glad you liked it.

      Like

    1. Unlike you, I’ve had about a zillion things going on, which you probably know because I’m always complaining about it. Yeah, creepy books aren’t usually my style. I originally gave this 3 stars then decided to change it.

      Like

    1. A+++ you mean! You do seem like the kind of person who likes creepy things (maybe your books wouldn’t be for me. On the other hand, they sound freaking cool). 🙂

      Like

    1. Even though it was creepy, you just had to get to the end, right? Like I just really wanted allll the answers, and I knew I’d never get them if I let myself get creeped out. Oh well.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely agree! This was such an intelligently written story and I loved how thought-provoking it was. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

