books · collabs · shanti · Shar · tags · Uncategorized

Book BFF Tag

A few days ago, I saw the ‘Book BFF’ tag on Heart Full of Books youtube channel. Given that Shar and I are twins and ‘book BFF’s’ I thought it would be fun if we joined in too. Basically, we have to guess each other’s favourite book or author in each of the groups. It may be a little confusing in written form, but it’ll be fine. Also, I feel too lazy to add links to all these books, so I just list the title and author. However, the categories of books that they had seemed sort of random, so I made up our own categories, because I’m divergent and I can’t be controlled.

book bff.jpg

Category 1: Favourite Fantasy Series

Shar said hers were Harry Potter (J.K. Rowling), Eragon (Christopher Paolini), and Percy Jackson (Rick Riordan). I (Shanti) said that Shar’s favourites were Harry Potter, so she was right.

I said that my favourites were The Old Kingdom Chronicles, by Garth Nix, and also Daughter of Smoke and Bone, by Laini Taylor. Shar said that my favourite was The Old Kingdom. Again, spot on. This was a pretty easy question, though, because we both like fantasy and read lots and lots of it.

Category 2: Favourite NZ/Au book

Shar said that her favourite were Karen Healey’s When We Wake and Lili Wilkinson’s Love-shy. I had a total mind blank and said any books by Fleur Beale, which was exceedingly stupid of me, because When We Wake was sitting on the shelf.

Anyway, my favourite New Zealandy books are the Dreamhunter books (very creepy) by Elizabeth Knox, and Montmaray Journals (by Michelle Cooper) and The Old Kingdom also. Shar totally guessed on this one and said Lili Wilkinson too. Not that I don’t like her also, she’s just not a favourite.

Category 3: Favourite Contemporary Author

Shar’s favourite contemporary authors and Jenny Han and Rainbow Rowell. I said Morgan Matson and Jenny Han, which was close enough.

My favourite contemporary author, in case you haven’t noticed the screeching, is Jenn Marie Thorne. Her books are still fairly new to me, but I love them an absurd amount. With a few wee hints from me, Shar got this one right.

Category 4: Favourite non-YA

Apparently, Shar’s favourite non-YA (or crossover) are Farenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury, and The Catcher in the Rye, by JD Salinger. I absolutely missed the bat on this one and said A Darker Shade of Magic, by VE Schwab. .

I wrote my favourites as The Secret Life of Bees (which is adult-ish) and The True Meaning of Smekday, which is MG and decidedly wonderful. Shar had no idea and said The End of Night, by Paul Bogard, which I also love, so she wasn’t wrong.

Category 5: Favourite Retelling

This was an easy peasy one: The Lunar Chronicles, by Marissa Meyer, all round. However, points also to A Curse Dark as Gold, The Forbidden Wish, Vicious (it is TOTALLY a Frankenstein retelling), The Weight of Feathers and A Wicked Thing.

Category 6: Favourite Historical Fiction

Shar doesn’t read that much historical, so I sort of gave her hints and we ended up both putting down The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak as her favourite one.

Mine was also pretty obvious: have you heard me tell you how FREAKING AWESOME The Montmaray Journals, by Michelle Cooper are before? They are such excellent books. (If you need convincing, go read this Tis the Season of Rereading review. Also, ‘Tis the Season of Rereading is almost upon us. Be excited!) There is so much great historical fiction out there: If I gave out second place, Ruta Septys would get a lot of credit.

Category 7: Favourite Royal Protagonist

So the problem with The Lunar Chronicles is that there are too many royal characters, which is to say that I said that Shar’s favourite would be Cinder, and she said Prince Kai, adding a lot of hearts after his name and a note saying ‘except he’s Cinder’s’.

Shar said that my favourites would be Winter (who I do love) or Sophia from Montmaray who absolutely wins as one of my favourite characters of all time. So we sussed eacho other out pretty well on this one.

dsc05596

Category 8: Favourite Boarding School Book

Shar said her favourite was White Cat (Holly Black) or Catcher in the Rye (JD Salinger). I was utterly confused and wrote Harry Potter or Song of the Lioness (Tamora Pierce) for her. This was quite a random category, so maybe that’s why I was so long.

For my favourite boarding school books, Tamora Pierce’s Protector of the Small definitely wins. I love Keladry a ridiculous amount. Shar said that my favourite would be White Cat or the School for Good and Evil (Soman Chainani). Sadly, after the mess of the second book, my love for the School for Good and Evil has faded a little.

Category 9: Favourite Literary Family

I love families in literature, so I thought this would be a fun category. Shar said that her favourites were ‘The Weasley’s ?? Idek’ and I put down the Weasley’s for her also.

I said that my favourites were The Garrets (from My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick) and The Dregs, from Leigh Bardugo’s 6 of Crows, because they totally count as a family. Shar said Karou & co for me (from Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone) which is also true.

This tag was quite random, but a fun chance to look at some favourite books. I tag anyone who has a bookish BFF.

6 thoughts on “Book BFF Tag

  1. This is awesome!! I need to find a bookish BFF to do this with now.😂 My sister and I probably could’ve done this a few years back, but she barely reads now (although I just clobbered her over the head with Harry Potter because she didn’t know what a Patronus was and I just….I cannot even.) Anyway! It’s pretty cool how well you both mostly know each other’s favourites. 😉

    Like

    1. I am so glad that I have bookish friends IRL and online *hugs* Go hunt down your bookish BFF. It is SO SAD when people stop reading, it makes me question their priorities. Harry Potter should just be read by everyone, obviously. I’m glad that we did sort of know each other!

      Like

    1. Awww, having a bookish BFF in real life is so great. (Hint: lend your books to your friends and convince them to read). I actually haven’t read the Catcher in the rye, but I guess Holden goes to a school somewhere? The Book Theif is SO AMAZING.

      Like

Leave a Reply

