book review · shanti

Mini Reviews Part Infinity

That title, by the way, is because I don’t want to go back and count. I’m currently travelling so this is a scheduled post, but I’ve been reading a fair amount recently and writing not very many reviews (hopefully that’ll change… we’ll see? September threw me off with schoolwork and laptop issues and so on) So here are a bunch of mini reviews. Enjoy!

Poisoned Apples by Christine Heppermann (4.5 stars)
This is the sort of book that it’s dishonest to mark as ‘finished’. It stays with you. It reminds you of who you are and who you want to be. The poems are exquisite, some funny, some obscure, but all worthwhile. They take a few reads. I love the photos, too. I don’t agree with everything in this book, and it does bother me that it so clearly has a white suburban American audience (look at the photos). I’m not white or suburban or American, and the eating disorder poems felt so distant. However, overall, this is an utterly real collection. The fairytale theme isn’t in every poem, but it’s as if Heppermann is reminding readers that everyone’s life is a fairytale: full of mistakes and beauty and ugliness. Excellent poetry=go read it!DSC05331.JPG

The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett (4.5 stars)

This is my second time reading this book, and I’ve upgraded the rating one star. It’s fast paced, funny, clever, magical, and shows girls as strong people. That’s what we need so much; that’s what we need most of all. I love Tiffany as a character. I love her adventure. I love her Nac Mac Feegles. I love the ordinariness. I love that this book exists, and I think everyone should read it. (full series review to come hopefully!)

The Circle by Sara Elfgren and Mats Strandberg (2.5 stars)

DSC05334.JPGI felt guilty about this book and the sequel sitting on my shelf, so I reread the first one to refresh myself and I had thoughts. I didn’t enjoy reading it, but it’s not exactly a bad book. I though that the witchiness was TOO witchy if that’s possible: it’s very bloody, verging on satanic, and there was extraneous swearing which always bothers me and it was so long and convoluted. The writing was fairly mediocre, but that could be the translation. I did still like the portrayal of female friendship, and seeing past boundaries, and trusting the right people-particularly yourself. It’s far from perfect, but I’m a little invested in the Circles adventures, and worried for the characters (see: bloody) and I’m going to keep reading sooner or later.

Da Vinci’s Tiger by L.M. Elliott (3.5 stars)
This was a pretty decent book. (3.5 stars) I liked the character of Ginevera, and the exploration of culture and poetry of the time. It’s clearly exquisitely researched, and that shows through. However, the themes of women’s power were a bit frustrating, the romance unnecessary (though the platonic love is interesting on it’s own) and I felt that Elliot was really hitting the reader over the head with it. I would have loved a bigger exploration of Ginevra and Luigi’s relationship as well. Still, interesting, informative historical fiction, which is worth a read if you’re interested in Da Vinci and his work.

A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett (4 stars)

DSC05332.JPG

Tiffany Aching is at it again. She’s now a witch in training, and is learning the craft from a mountain witch. Even as she goes through the trials that always accompany new friends, she is pursued by a monster. I loved how funny this book was, the focus of friendship, the idea that witches do what no-one else want’s to do, and it is that which is immensely valuable. The Nac Mac Feegles, too, are a wonderful creation: They’re funny and crass, and silly, and all-around wonderful. It’s also excellent to see Discworld favourite Granny Weatherwax in this installment.  It’s funny and fast and excellently executed, and is totally triumphant.

What books have you been reading lately? Any new obsessions, or more unusual books, like poetry? Tell me in the comments!

 

4 thoughts on “Mini Reviews Part Infinity

  1. GREAT REVIEWS!! honestly though, I haven’t read anything by Terry Pratchett but my best friend is a huge fan and has read all of his books. (he has written a million books. I am scared.) is it MG though?? I mostly read YA but love a good MG. 🙂

    Like

    1. Interesting, Grace’s favourite adjective. If you’re not into witches, defintely avoid The Circle, but the Terry Pratchett ones are a pretty harmless form of ‘witchery’–the word witch could be replaced with ‘social worker’ and it would be a similar story (there’s hardly any magic, even!)

      Like

      1. Shoot xD You’ve discovered ONE of my favourite adjectives. However my favourite adjective is actually ‘brilliant’, usually combined with ‘absolutely’. *sticks nose in the air in a dignified fashion*

        Like

Leave a Reply

