blogging · Uncategorized

Beautiful People: Elissa

Hi Virtually Readers! Today, before I go away for a week, I’m linking up with Cait and Sky’s Beautiful People . I’m kind of working on a bunch of things right now, but trying to start writing Lighter Places which is going to a be a novel (hopefully!) about a girl who really is into lighting design (as in, for theatre). Her name is Elissa, but that might change. Anyway, hopefully doing this will motivate me to write some more. (honestly, I have so little right now, and not much of a plan, but this is still a story that interests me).

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n201_zpsw3b8il6s

  1. How did you come up with this character?

I thought of Elissa because I wanted to write about someone who didn’t quite fit in. Not in a they-have-no-friends way, but in a they-have-a-lot-of-acquaintances way. I was trying to work out who would be like that, and Elissa fit the bill. Her lighting skills are needed by the theatre people, the French Club, the popular partiers (and some clubs in her town actually), so she knows all these people vaguely, but her tendency to say things at the wrong time and thoughtlessness stops her from having close friends. (that’s probably going to change)

2. Have they ever been starving? Why? And what did they eat to break the fast?

No, actually. Elissa is a fairly privileged Italian-British-Thai person who lives in Chiangmai and goes to an international school. She’s always had enough food.

3. Do they have a talent or skill that they’re proud of?

Definitely her ability to manipulate lights and write lighting programs. She’s very, very, good at this, and wants to do it professionally one day.

4. List 3 things that would make them lose their temper.

-If her siblings (she has a lot of them) play with her laptop. Everything important to Elissa is on there.

-Thinking about her dad. He runs a business in Singapore, and is very distant and unhelpful.

-When her mother asks her about volunteering with her NGO. Elissa wants to help people, but it sort of frightens her, how big the world’s problems are. The combination of guilt and familial pressure make her very frustrated.

5. What is their favourite type of weather? Least favorite?

Her favourite outfit is jeans and a sweater, so anything cool enough to make it comfortable to wear that. She doesn’t like hot humid weather, but she lives in Thailand… so she spends a lot of time huddled in AC areas.

6. What is their Hogwarts house and/or MBTI personality?

This is a really hard one. I would say a Huffledor, because she’s quite brave and outspoken like a Gryffindor, and has friends like a good Hufflepuff, but is too nerdy to be full Hufflepuff/Gryffindor.

7. Are they more likely to worry about present problems, or freak out about the unknown future?

Freak out about the unknown future. Elissa is in her last year of school, and all of the things in the Big Bad World concern her, and she doesn’t know where she belongs, and how she can do what she wants to with her life and still help others somehow.

8. What is their favourite thing to drink?

She likes to drink anything cold without much sugar in it. Iced water, iced lemon water, iced black coffee, ice tea without sugar… anything like that. But mostly she sticks to water because she chooses not to invest energy in her drink choice.

9. What is their favourite color? Least favorite?

Elissa’s favourite colour is blue-grey. It’s not a boring colour, quite, but it’s bland and matches things, and looks good. She doesn’t like red (even though red really matches her personality imo), because it’s so noticeable, and noticeable is the opposite of what she wants to be. She wants to be noticed when it’s important, which is not most of the time.

10. What is a book that changed their life?

Elissa isn’t much of a reader, but maybe this one: Stage Lighting and Design Craft (I haven’t read it though…). she does a lot of different things, but stage lighting is her passion, and she want’s to pursue that the most. She watched this filmed version of a West End production when she was 8, and ever since then she’s been obsessed.

So that’s Elissa. Hopefully doing this post will motivate me to write some more! What do you think of Elissa? Would you read a whole book about her? Tell me in the comments!

12 thoughts on “Beautiful People: Elissa

  1. I’m intrigued by Elissa! (I love her name!) And I think the fact she’s into lighting is really cool and different and unique. My dad was all into lighting actually and likes to tell us stories of all the lighting escapades in his days and smoke machines and setting off like mini firework-thingies (flash pots?? Idek what they’re called) to scare the theatre people.😂 GOOD TIMES APPARENTLY. Ahem. So I think your book sounds great!
    AND YAY THAT YOU ARE BACK I MISSED YOUR GLORIOUS BLOGGINGNESS.

    Like

  2. Oooh, she sounds fun! I especially like the idea of her having a lot of acquaintances but not many friends. Like, it’s always one or the other, you know? The charrie has at least a few close friends or no friends, rather than someone who’s kinda stuck in the middle. Good luck with the project! 🙂

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbosityreviews.com

    Like

  3. Elissa seems super interesting! Also, her being Italian-British-Thai is also very interesting. (I’m overusing the word interesting, I know). I think it’s cool that you made a character that’s very racially and culturally diverse.

    Hm, blue-grey as a favourite colour… interesting….

    Like

    1. I’m glad that she seems interesting. HOpefully I can write her that way! I have a mixed ethnic and cultural background, as well as lots of the people I know, and I’m hoping I can use that to explore the need for belonging. Interesting!

      Like

  4. Elissa sounds fascinating. SO much to her. I would surely read a whole book about her if it was well written. Have you ever read MIss Smilla’s feelign for Snow? totally amaing writing and he creates a charactere who is real and interestign and quirky and carreis the whole book. It does not need a plot you would love it.

    Like

    1. I really hope I can make time to write about her. No I haven’t read that book, I should definitely look out for it. (what are you implying about the books I read?) Thanks so much for commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

