book review · books · Shar

Review: The Unexpected Everything

Title: The Unexpected Everythingthe-unexpected-everything-9781471146152_hr

Author: Morgan Matson

Genre: YA contemporary

Themes: Friendship, summer, love/relationships, family, meeting your OTP while walking dogs.

Brief Summary: Andie’s summer isn’t quite going as planned. Can she learn to find love and friendship and happiness as she walks dogs and hangs out with her best friends?

 

I really enjoyed The Unexpected Everything. Here is a list of things I liked.

#1 There were references to characters from Matson’s other books and IT WAS FABULOUS BECAUSE I GOT THEM.

#2 The characters were easy to connect to! I liked Andie and I also loved her relationship with all her friends because it was so nice.

#3 The love interest was a fantasy writer. He was very nice and I shipped the ship.

#4 Andie made friends with her father and came to terms with her mother’s death (not a spoiler) and this was really cool. I also liked that she got grounded, unlike people in most contemporaries who seem to just gallivant around doing what they want.

#5 The ending was not a happily ever after, which was a change.

#6 The setting was lovely. It made me feel warm and hungry. Also, I liked how it was between Andie’s 11th and 12th grade years—just like where I am now. (actually I wrote this review right before I started  12th  grade so that’s technically not true now)

#7There was an epic scavenger hunt and it was awesome.

#8 There was drama and action but the realistic kind, not the my-friends-have-all-died-and-I-have-5-minutes-to-change-the-world kind.

#8 Andie changed over the course of the novel.

 

But. There’s always a but.

My biggest problem with this book is that there was a very long middle. I felt like the majority of the book was a ‘middle’ where everything was happy and wonderful and Andie was not suffering(i.e, driving the plot) at all. Then, at the very end of the book, everything happened, and there was a lot of action in a short time, after much of nothing.

Also, the language wasn’t overly interesting. While Andie was different from Matson’s other characters, in some ways the book felt very similar to her other books, in a way that bored me just a little.

Also, the word ‘thrilling’ was used at least once each chapter, and I became so over it.

 

But generally, I really enjoyed The Unexpected Everything. Mainly because DOGS.

Plot:2.5/5

Characters:5/5

Setting:4/5

Language:3/5

Total: 4/5

Have you read this book? What’s your policy on the word ‘thrilling’? Are you a cat person or a dog person? (I’m a cat person except when it comes to my dog and a select few others) How do you feel when the plot twist is visible a mile off?

11 thoughts on “Review: The Unexpected Everything

  1. I love Morgan Matson, so I am super excited for this one! I really liked her other book Since You’ve Been Gone so I’m crossing my fingers this one is just as good (although, from your review, it sounds like I won’t be disappointed). Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ♥

    Like

    1. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed! You’ll probably enjoy the few references to Since You’ve Been Gone too (characters and locations make appearances). SYBG was so good ❤

      Like

  2. I just reviewed this one today as well! Like you, I enjoyed it although I had some issues. The pacing wasn’t too big of a problem for me but I did notice the dragging towards the middle/end when author would write a paragraph or two then skip a few days or a week ahead. And yes-DOGS!

    Like

    1. Yeah, when time suddenly changes it can be so confusing. and *hi fives for blog twinning* omg your design is gorgeous! and dogs=wonderful 😀

      Like

    1. The ending was pleasant, but it wasn’t ‘happily skipping into sunset forever’ but rather acknowledged that there were things in the future that would be hard, and the characters would keep changing, etc.

      Like

  3. Great review! I am so glad you enjoyed this book 🙂 I read all of Morgan Matson’s book and I really enjoyed them all, I can’t wait to read that one. I heard though, that it’s a bit of a long book (in terms of pages, obviously, but also in terms of not much happening so it’s long to get through, especially in the middle. And you confirmed this idea in your review.) I think I will read it anyways because it still sounds like my kind of story 😀

    Like

    1. Morgan Matson writes such wonderful contemporaries. It was quite long, but that did mean there was good character development too. I’d love to hear what you think when you do read it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

