books · shanti · tags

The Bookshelf Tag

The lovely Heather@Sometimes I’m A Story tagged me for the bookshelf tag! I sometimes feel sad that so many other book bloggers have SO MANY books and I have relatively few. But I’m pretty glad to have books at all, so I shouldn’t feel that way. Anyway, lets get to it!

bookshelf tag

A short but powerful book

From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankwieler. This is a MG classic about siblings, adventure, New York, art, and taking risks.

A good, long book

Winter by Marissa Meyer. This last tome in the Lunar Chronicles series clocks in at over 800 fabulous pages.

Favourite classic on my shelf

DSC04292

-This is a toss-up between Jane Eyre and Voyage of the Dawn Treader

A relatively obscure book

DSC04294

The Girl Who Could Fly by Victoria Forester. This is an awesome MG about a farm girl who is taken to an institute where people with special skills—like her flying—are ‘cared for’.

An underrated book

When We Wake by Karen Healey, a YA dystopia by a NZ author that actually deals with climate change and racism in a future world where everything isn’t closed off—and is in Australia to boot!

An overrated book

Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas. I did really like this book—seeing Celaena between romantic entanglements was lovely, but it has a LOT of hype.

Most reread book

-Either Lirael by Garth Nix or Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoneix.

How many of the books you own have you not read?

DSC04291

-6. Wicked, Lost and Found, Fire, Like Smoke, The Hunt and The Hidden Oracle. (no, I’m not going to link to all those books #lazy)

A book you haven’t read.

Fire. This is a sequel to the Swedish paranormal book The Circle which my friend gave me. I think I need to reread the first one before reading it though!

A short story collection

DSC04293

-I have two. Welcome to Bordertown, edited by Holly Black and Ellen Kushner, which was really cool, though part of a whole lot of Bordertown books, of which I haven’t read any others; and Like Smoke by Paro Anand, which is signed by the author, but I haven’t read yet.

A Non-Fiction Book

-I only have one non-fiction book (that is totally mine). That’s 1001 Childrens books you should read before you grow up, and it’s basically like goodreads before goodreads was a thing? It has lots of well written, thoughtful reviews, and lots of good ideas for childrens/YA books from around the world.

I don’t really feel like tagging anyone today, because most people I know have done this tag already,  but if you want to do it, go right ahead!

Which of the books on your bookshelf was the hardest to acquire? And how do you organise your bookshelf? Tell me in the comments!

15 thoughts on “The Bookshelf Tag

  1. Relatively few books? Ha, you should see MY shelf xDD Well, at least you said relative, right?

    I haven’t read any of the books which you’ve mentioned, which makes me a little sad, to be honest xD

    Like

  2. I organise my shelf by colour! And I…um…have a lot of books.😂 They are everywhere. I’ve stolen my sister’s shelves and I’ve got a gazillion books stacked on top of my shelves AND IT’S STILL NOT WORKING HERE. Ahem. Most of them I’ve been given though, so phewf. I think I really haven’t struggled to acquire a particular book…except for maybe The Raven King? But that was just because it took forever to arrive in the mail haha. ahem.
    Yayy for the Dawn Treader though!! So much Narnia appreciation eep. ❤

    Like

    1. Colour shelves are so beautiful 🙂 (but my mum forced me to leave illuminae in NZ so I have no orange :() I’m always having to shuffle things around to fit more books. I don’t get many books in the mail (not living on a road sucks like that) but I sporadically get some from Amazon when people we know are coming from the US. Narnia is such a great series.

      Like

  3. I’m going to second you on Jane Eyre. 😉
    My bookshelf is technically full, as is the extra shelf above it. Now, I pile my books on top of the ones on my bookshelf, and also dump them on my chair.
    Hardest book to acquire…I’m not really sure, to be honest. I have a signed copy of Runemarks, but it just so happened that the only copy the bookshop had was a signed copy. I didn’t have to pay any extra for it, or queue in the rain, or walk through a wall of fire to get it.

    Like

    1. Jane Eyre is such a great classic. Filling bookshelves is a never ending problem 🙂 . I once jumped out of the car while we were waiting at a stop light and got a hardcover Daughter of Smoke and Bone for my efforts.

      Like

  4. Winter was good, wasn’t it? Jane Eyre is also one of my favorite classics, so I get you there. 🙂 Alas, I don’t know many of the others. But, you know, that is okay. My TBR will just get longer, I guess. Thank you for participating in the tag! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Probably BZRK by Michael Grant, only because it’s the only book I’ve ever had personally signed by the author in person. It was such fun meeting him! Great tag! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

