book review · books · Shar

Review: The Intern

Hi Virtual Readers! I read a lot of books on holiday, and I managed to review most of them, including this one.

Title: The Intern18599572

Author: Gabrielle Tozer

Genre: Contemporary YA

Themes: Friendship, working, family, relationships, dealing with evil bosses

Summary: Josie’s always dreamed of being a famous journalist. So she’s less than thrilled to be assigned an internship at Sash, a frilly women’s magazine. But the magazine has it’s own interesting ups and downs, and there’s some amazing people there too. Also there is James, her cousin’s hot flatmate…

I LOVED this book.

It was realistic: Josie wasn’t perfect: she was a klutz who constantly second guessed herself, struggled to balance school and friends and academics and family and romance was so, so realistic. I totally got her. Rather than focusing on one facet of her life, there was all of it, although it was centred on the magazine, so I got a complete sense of Josie as a person. I think we would have been friends. At the same time, it managed to have a plot, unlike real life, which blobs in about a zillion directions at once. But I digress.)

It was relatable. I am a lot like Josie. I’m motivated to get the best grades, for example. I’m an overthinking oaf who sometimes gets her priorities mixed up. Even where I wasn’t like Josie (for example I’m not in university, and don’t have cousins with a flat), she was so easy to *get* because of her distinct voice.

The romance: It was cute and shippable but also slow burn and not the centre of the plot (again with the realisticness). I liked that Josie wasn’t confident about herself and her relationship with the super awesome love interest, and managed to mess up a bit without fudging anything.

The characters: Josie wasn’t the only awesome one. Steph, another intern, preferred travelling the world, but her rich father got her the job to help get her head out of the louds. Ava, the other intern, seems perfect and snark but has her own problems to hide. Josie’s family, who are low on money after her father worked out, are awesome. Her mother is down to earth and honest, and her sister is snarky but wonderful in her own way. Angel, Josie’s best friend, is completely different from her but also inceedibly supportive. Tim, Josie’s cousin(she stays with him in the city) drinks pineapple juice right out of the box is a little crazy, and Liani, a manager person at Sash is sweet and motherly and wears flats. Sia and Rae and Billy and… I could keep going.

The plot was interesting and surprising and heartwarming and wonderful too.

Plot: 4/5

Language:5/5

Characters:5/5

Setting:4/5

Overall:4.5/5

Have you read this book? What’s one contemporary you enjoyed recently? Have you ever done an internship? What is the last 5 star book you read?

9 thoughts on “Review: The Intern

  1. Aw, I love relatable characters! She sounds a lot like me too!

    One contemporary I read and loved recently was Olivia, Finding Her Way by Tessa Palmeri. It’s technically set in the 90’s, but eh, close enough, lol. It sounds kinda similar to The Intern actually, showing all the different parts of her life, but there is way less plot in that story than it sounds like there was in The Intern.

    Nice review!

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbosityreviews.com

    Like

    1. *looks up Olivia, Finding her way* That looks quite good. For me, christian contemporary works better than dystopia/sci fi, for some reason 🙂 Yeah, the intern had an interesting plot 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Surprisingly I don’t think I’ve ever seen this book before, but I’m glad you enjoyed it! I’ll have to add it to my immediate TBR list. I love relatable characters and being able to look into a book’s events to reflect my own experiences, and Josie sounds like just the character I’d like to read more about. Like you, I strive to achieve good grades but often feel conflicted about balancing other priorities and making time during high school, so I think I’d definitely resonate with this story. Lovely review! 🙂

    ✨ Claire @ Cover to Cover

    Like

    1. Maybe you haven’t seen it because it’s australian? I got it from my library in New Zealand as an ebook (I don’t live there) so maybe that’s why. Man, balancing priorities is super hard, so it looks like we’re in the same boat. Well, I’m glad you liked my review *stalks your blog*

      Like

Leave a Reply

