books · discussions · Shar · Uncategorized

Bookshelf Statistics

Hi Virtually Readers! The other day I decided to look at my bookshelf  and the books on it and record various numbers(not only am I a book nerd, I am a maths nerd too). When I was done, I was struck by the *brilliant* idea to make info graphics of all my gathered information. I really did not realise how much work it would be. Aanyway, here are the super amazing info graphics into which I poured my soul, my blood, my sweat and my tears as well as some analysis of them. 

I don’t have many good photos of the bookshelf in question, but look at these 4 with their equal height:

DSC03847

First I looked at the basics: what I’d read and not read. (Out of the 60 on the shelf).

Screen Shot 2016-06-15 at 5.33.06 pm

(I had read 38 of my books, partly read 3, and not read 20. Oops this graph is wrong because of my subtraction skills (61-41=20, not 23))

Analysis: Basically, I should really read all these books I am so lucky to own. The reason why I haven’t is that when I was younger (before we had readers basically) my mother would panic about us having nothing to read in the holidays when the library would close, so we were forbidden to read any of our own books during the school year. Now I’m trying to read all these books, but I’m behind. Also, we got quite a few new books recently, so then I’m behind.

Then I just counted my books by genre.

Screen Shot 2016-06-15 at 5.32.40 pm

Screen Shot 2016-06-15 at 5.35.03 pm.png

(I read 27/40 fantasy, 6/8 contemporary, 3/7 historical, part of the 1 nonfiction book, and 5/5 dystopias)

Analysis: We have A LOT of fantasy books. Many many or them. I don’t think this is representative of the genres read, because I don’t read a lot of fantasy, but still. I, personally, have read all the dystopias we have (which is not a lot), because it is my favourite genre (I think.). Also, counting was so hard! Some books could qualify in more than one category, and so I had to make hard choices. I ended up using all these sticky notes, so I knew what I had counted. Then Shanti was angry at me for sticking things to the books. But I didn’t care.

DSC03846

 

For some reason (maybe because I wanted to cause myself pain by creating more pie charts) I thought I should just count all the publishers. ‘Other’, by the way, is two or fewer books from a publisher (included Knopf, Random House, Hodder & Stoughton, and Chicken House).

Screen Shot 2016-06-15 at 5.32.01 pm

Analysis: Well apparently we LOVE HarperCollins. I also think this is interesting because we have a broad range of publishers; Allen and Unwin is Australian, Scholastic is American, Penguin is British… you get the idea. I guess this reflects how Shanti and I have grown up in more than one place.

THEN, mainly because of Heather, I was curious about the genders of authors my bookshelf represented (I mostly knew or could guess by the name or assumed checked.). I’ve heard (and don’t believe) that if you are a feminist, then you will have at least 50% female authors on your bookshelf. Hmmm.

Screen Shot 2016-06-15 at 5.31.35 pm

(There were 40 female authors and 21 male).

Analysis: These are not all the books in the house. They aren’t even all the YA books in my house (only most of them). These are just two shelves because I was too lady to count the rest. However, a lot of the books we own are directed towards females. As far as I know, girls read more YA than guys (just look at how many female book blogger you know, and how many male book bloggers, for example). So female authors=write books girls will be more likely to like=more of the (female) readers of YA will buy them=more $$$$$ .

Overall, I learned that creating nice pie graphs from your information takes FOREVER, and that you should just be really grateful I bothered with this even if I just took screenshots because I am technologically challenged by embed codes.

What is your bookshelf like? Have you ever made a pie chart? Do you even maths? How many female and male authors do you have?

18 thoughts on “Bookshelf Statistics

  1. I appreciate your pie charts! I ALWAYS APPRECIATE PIE OMG. I mean, pie charts. Ahem. Also I always screenshot when I do this kind of thing. hahahaah. Embedding, pfft, who has time for that?
    Also I LOVE statistics so this was super interesting. I really want to count all my books (which would be enormously daunting) and see what my statistics would be like. :O I reckon fantasy would win for me too. 😉 FANTASY IS EVERYTHING. Also I’m sure most of my books are by female authors too!

    Like

    1. Ain’t nobody got time for embedding, amiright? I was super interested by my own statistics if that makes any sense. Hmm, I’m not sure fantasy is my favourite genre, but I definitely like it (choosing a favourite genre is so hard *sigh* ) . If only pie charts could be made with real pie… (apple? blackberry? pear? chocolate? I don’t care.)

      Like

    1. YES libraries are the actual best 😀 I get library books from New Zealand, even though I don’t live there, and it rocks.

      Like

  2. I’ve totally wanted to do something like this for a long time! And I love the different things you put into it—I’ve totally wondered what kind of publisher I tend to read and that sort of thing, you know? It’s just… not just a discovery into the books that I own but the books that resonate with me. You know? I’m glad to hear that you have read most of the books you own (I always worry for the people who say that they have five million books they haven’t read in their house because I feel like books should be loved and if they aren’t they should go to someone who will love them) (even if I am guilty of keeping a few books I hate) and it’s also interesting to see what genres you go for. I guess I was a little surprised you have a lot of fantasy at your house because I feel like so much YA contemporary discussion happens here.

    Whoever said at least half of your bookshelf should be women if you’re a feminist seems like they don’t know what they’re talking about? Seriously, person? I mean, yes, I’d be a little worried if you owned NO books by women, or even less than maybe, I dunno, 25%? That, I feel, would demonstrate some level of apathy or even antagonism towards women. But really, the numbers shouldn’t matter. It should be more about your beliefs and behaviors (which, admittedly, should be reflected in your bookshelf, too).

    Like

    1. I think this feminist stupid thing was in a newspaper, although I can’t say for sure. Hmmm. I agree about reading the books you own (although I admit that there are other book shelves in this house with books like ‘Oxford Handbook of Emergency Medicine’ ‘Hindi-English dictionary’ and ‘Participatory rural appraisal’ that I haven’t gone near). I guess the books I was surveying also represented what’s available (Harry Potter and Rick Riordan books are more common in India than, say, Stephanie Perkins) as well as what Shanti and my tastes have been starting quite a few years ago? I don’t really know. (To be honest, I read a lot of contemporary and enjoy it, but dystopia is my true love, and I like other ones too.) And if you do look at the statistics of your own bookshelf, I’d be totally interested to see what you find!

      Like

  3. Hmmm… I don’t think that I have ever thought about my bookshelves like that. I honestly don’t know, but I think it would be cool to do a similar post on my blog.

    Like

  4. Wow, I will forever be in awe of that blog post, and how you managed to have the patience to create graphics like that and stuff, I would have given up in like, four minutes ahah. It’s funny, I think I have read more books by female authors as well, and I do know a whole lot more of female YA bloggers, even if I know a few guys here and there 🙂 and FANTASY! Well since you have a lot of those, I wouldn’t be against some recommendations of great fantasy 😛

    Like

    1. Yes, the YA book blogging world is rather bereft of males, isn’t it? How strange. Hmmm– I just finished A Darker Shade of Magic, which was an awesome fantasy, as was The Hunt (creepy vampires) and the Ingo series is lighter (it’s about mermaids and kids who are half mermaid) and the Eragon series (draaaagoooons) is awesome but rather long. I’m sure you are capable of making awesome graphics. *pats back*

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I used info gram. It took a while to figure out (as evidenced by my complaining) but looked really awesome. They actually provide embed codes which I’m sure work better but somehow I just failed (#oh well). Basically, I had to make an account then upload information (I used Google sheets, but there are other options.)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

