blogging · shanti · tags

The Power of Words Tag

I am, as you guys probably know, a total word lover. Anyway, Heather tagged me for the Power of Words Tag, which is pretty fabulous. And now you get to know all sorts of fun trivia about words and me! Yay!

powerofwordstag

The Rules

-Thank she/he who tagged you (yay Heather!)

-answer the original 6 questions

– add a word/typography question of your own for the people you tag.

-tag 6 or more people and let them know

-include the rules in your post (obvs)

What is your favourite letter of the alphabet?

T or S. They’re common and useful. Also hindi has four different ‘t’ characters which I think is pretty cool.

What are three words you love?

Slender, appalling, incompossible (means not mutually possible; from my Endangered Words book)

What are three words you hate?

Can I say the three words that weren’t at the end of Eleanor and Park? Otherwise, moist, streak, barbarian.

If you were to create a word what would it be and what would it mean?

What are your three favourite punctuation marks?

  • Em dashes are awesome and I use them way too much. & I love the ampersand.*

*the asterisk is fabulous too.

What are your three favourite fonts?

Cardo, Georgia and, I don’t know, Calibri?

BONUS: If you could change the way one word sounded, what would it be and why?

It would be stallion. I think it would sound better as steelion. (Like steel lion. It makes no sense but I like it.)

BONUS: Do you know of a word that looks better than it sounds?

Companionable. It looks so nice, but is really hard to say (or unnecessary in general).

HEATHER’S QUESTION: What are three words you mispronounced at first because you had only seen them written down?

Caveat (Cave-eat), hospital (hopsital), destination (densitation) and nougat (actually I still don’t know how to say that one tbh)

I tag Nevillegirl, Alexa, and Sophia. (I know, I’m a rule breaker). My question for you is: what is a word you want to remove from the English language (or another language if you like)?

Tell me about some of your favourite words in the comments.

 

6 thoughts on “The Power of Words Tag

  1. Yay for doing the tag! 😀 I think appalling is a great word! 😀 I too like em-dashes, but for some reason I actually hate ampersands. I don’t know why. Also, densitation makes me laugh! 😀 Thanks again for participating. 😀

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’m always searching for opportunity to use it. Most of my teachers hate ampersands too. I like how refined they look :)You’re welcome!

      Like

  2. This whole tag is making me question how I pronounce English words. I pronounce everything right in my head, but with the French accent, out loud, I can’t imagine, haha.
    I love your answers, and I don’t know what my favorite word would be ahah. Wanderlust maybe ❤

    Like

    1. yeah, I’m really lucky that english is my first language and I still makes all sorts of mistakes. I even forgot to put Vigilante on the list, because that word *grr* Wanderlust is great word and a great concept! I’m glad you enjoyed 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

