books · shanti

9 MORE things to do with books (apart from reading them)

So in January last year, I posted about 9 things that you can do with books that ISN’T reading. Yes, books are useful in many ways. Today I’m back with 9 more useful uses for books. First things first though:Β  I got twitter! Go follow me @VirtuallyRead for random thoughts, blog updates and general bookwormy things. Now here are the secret uses of books you’ve been longing to discover.

1. Accessories

Books can match your outfit. You’re going to be carrying books around all the time anyway (right? *squinty eyes*), so why not co-ordinate?bookcessory

2. Use as a weapon

The pen is mightier than the sword. The oft-forgotten second part of that phrase is ‘the book is greater than the knife. Always have a book on hand, especially a hardback, incase you ever need to fight( like all the YA characters do!)

knife 1.jpg

3. Protect from the light

Many bookworms have an aversion to light (as long as there’s enough to read) protect your eyes when reading, whether outdoors or indoors, with a book.

book shades.jpg

4. Earmuffs

It can be so hard to focus when it’s noisy. Cover your ears with books to keep out the unwanted noise. Bonus: your ears stay warm.

bookmuff

5. Wallets

You’re carrying a book around at all times. Why not carry money, tickets, credit cards, or ultra thin smartphones inside too? The book will keep your money safe and always be accessible. Bonus: combine with #1. Fun fact: I actually did this with Illuminae when I was in Melbourne.

DSC03747.JPG

6. Footrest

You come home after a long day and just want to put your feet up and read. Books are the perfect thing to put your feet up on. Bonus if said footrest is a series like Harry Potter.

DSC03744.JPG

7. Hold other books open

Cookbooks especially, and paperbacks, have this problem where they snap closed if you’re not holding them. Skip the nuisance by using other books to hold your one open.

DSC03750.JPG

8. Take pictures for your blog

Imagine all your favourite book blogs without lovely pictures of books. How boring would that be? You should appreciate those pictures, too– book bloggers put hard work into them.

DSC03749.JPG

9. Fire fuel

You know that scene in the Day after Tomorrow where they burn the books in the New York Public library?… haha, just kidding.

DSC03751.JPG

What are some unusual uses you have for books? Which one of these are you going to apply in your life immediately? tell me in the comments

*no books were harmed in the making of this post

18 thoughts on “9 MORE things to do with books (apart from reading them)

  1. I actually enjoy it a lot when books and outfits match! I think people should do it more often. πŸ˜€ I also use my books to hold stuffβ€”notes, homework, scraps of receipts, things I think I’ll need later. Books are quite useful when you get down to it! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Yes, it’s like the perfect moment! I should do it more too. When I have to study, I sometimes put reminders in books like ‘go watch khan academy now’ or something.

      Like

  2. Oh I definitely use books to cover my whole head basically. Or burying myself in them and block out the universe. Also they make GREAT DISGUISES. You could totally put one over your face and walk around and NO ONE WOULD KNOW IT WAS YOU. #winning

    Like

  3. This post is SO great–I found myself nodding to many of these, and laughing at the rest (I mean, let’s be honest, I laughed through all of this post). Great work on this–super entertaining, and SUPER true! πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. Haha, this is such a creative post! I especially like the ‘protect you from the light’ thing, because I feel like I should genuinely do that! It’s been sunny here for like, a couple of days and I already feel like I’m melting!
    I have also been know to use heaps of books as a footstool, and as paperweights when I need to hold things down. There are just so many uses for books!

    Like

  5. Haha, this is great.
    I really actually like the wallet idea, but I’d be worried my stuff would fall out.
    Have you ever seen those hollow book tutorials? There’s another purpose for books beside reading. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. The wallet idea is surprisingly effective. It would probably be okay if you were holding the book all the time or tied a ribbon around it or put it in your bag. I haven’t seen tutorials, but I’ve seen pictures of the end result. Books are way more useful that you’d think, haha. πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

