book review · books · Shar

The Scorpio Races, aka asdkflj;askljd!!!!

I recently read the Scorpio Races (on my super tiny but amazing ereader) and basically I loved it.

Title: The Scorpio Races

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Genre: YA Fantasy/Contemporary?

Themes: friendship, family, horses, island life, orphans falling in love

You might remember that I hated Shiver. However, I was browsing through my library, and decided to get this out, mainly because Shanti forced me recommended it. I’m sad to admit that she was right, because I loved this book sosososo much.

DSC03633

Short Summary: On an island called Thisby, The Scorpio Races are held every year. It’s a vicious race on Capaill Uiske (I think I spelt that right), or water horses.  Puck Connolly signs up, but she has reasons for wanting to win other than money and glory. And Sean’s won them four times, but winning has never been what he’s wanted. This year, the races are going to be different.

 The first thing I loved about this book is the characters. They were expertly moulded, round, with incredible, distinct voices (there were, like 2 times where I forgot to read the part where it said who was narrating and was very confused for a few pages). I shipped the ship SO HARD and I just loved the characters so much. Puck loved her family, but she also got frustrated with them. I got a really good sense of both how hard she worked, and also that  she wasn’t a perfect sister or friend. I understood her orphanhood (is that a word?) even though I’m not one, and she was just lovely. As for Sean, can I adopt him? He was so thoughtful, and lonely and THAT BOY JUST NEEDS A HUG. I loved how much he loved the horses, especially *his* horse Corr and just he was so so cute, okay? The secondary characters were also wonderful- they were plentiful but still well described and round. I LOVED Finn, was interested in George Holly, liked Dory Maud, and the butcher’s wife, Peg, was just something else.

DSC03638

The setting, Thisby, was also amazing. I liked how it could have been any time in the last 50 years, making it feel timeless but easy to connect to. Without being info dumped, I got what the island was like and what living on it was like, from the town to the beach to the Connolly house. The descriptions were lush and beautiful and so, so easy to picture. I also liked how it had a kind of Scottish/British feel to it and PLEASE SOMEONE MAKE ME NOVEMBER CAKES IMMEDIATELY.

The plot was perfect. I really really liked the beginning, which gave me a good sense of the characters and setting. Then there were lots of exciting/scary things that happened, and then the race. I had no idea who would win until somebody did, and the moment when I realised that only one person could win was rather scary. And the ending=Sean is a cinnamon bun and I love Corr so much. Also I love Dove. Can I have a horse?

DSC03632

But my favourite part of the book was the language, which was beautiful and rich but not pretentious at all. Here are some quotes:

“I trust Corr more than any of them. I should not trust him at all.”

“I say, ‘I will not be your weakness, Sean Kendrick.’
Now he looks at me. He says, very softly, ‘It’s late for that, Puck.”

“It is the first day of November and so, today, someone will die.”

“Does anyone ask you why you stay, Sean Kendrick?”
“They do.”
“And why do you?”
“The sky and the sand and the sea and Corr.”

“And I told you before, I’ll sell you any of the thoroughbreds.”
“I didn’t make any of those thoroughbreds. I didn’t make them what they are.”
“You made all of them what they are.”
I don’t look at him. “None of them made me who I am.”

So, to summarise:

Plot: 5/5

Characters: 5/5

Setting: 5/5

Language: 5/5

Total: 5/5

I MIGHT HAVE FOUND A NEW FAVOURITE.

Was this review comprehensible? Have you read The Scorpio Races (if not, why are you still here? embark on an epic search for this book instead.)? Do you think it’s worth giving an author a second chance? What is one horse/island/really shippable book you read recently?

12 thoughts on “The Scorpio Races, aka asdkflj;askljd!!!!

  1. I’ve heard many good things about this book, and I believe my own sister has enjoyed it very much! It’s good to hear that you enjoy it so much, too. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve heard a lot about the Scorpio Races, but I’ve yet to read them. You’ve got me convinced about Sean though (I LOVE SMALL SWEET CHARRIES), and I shall check and see if my library has a copy.

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbosityreviews.com

    Like

  3. I have to admit, I have never heard about this series before. And you only made a slight error capaill *uisce (who knew Irish would actually come in handy one day). Maybe I’ll check the library if it’s there ’cause my Mum would never allow me to buy something with the title ‘scorpio’.

    It has a nice, Irish fell to it. Maybe I’ll check it out.

    Like

    1. I got this from the library too! Actually, it’s not a series, it’s a standalone, and is definitely Irish-ish (cold island with moors?) What’s so bad about Scorpio? It’s funny, they never explain why the races are called The Scorpio Races. I’d love to hear what you think 🙂

      Like

  4. YES YOU READ THE SCORPIO RACES!!! I used to be obsessed with horses (especially coming from California, where horseback riding is pretty common); when I was younger, I’d read pretty much anything that had a horse on the cover. I’m so glad you like this book though!! The plot, the characters, the setting — everything is close to flawless! Not to mention the descriptions of FOOD. And the horses, of course! 🙂

    Like

    1. YES YES WE ARE SO SMART AND HORSEY. I need november cakes like right now I don’t know what else to say. This book was so close to flawless so I agree. *hi fives for reading horsey books*

      Liked by 1 person

      1. *high fives back* I actually think The Scorpio Races is one of my favorite books! I haven’t read any of Maggie Steifvater’s other books, though.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I have yet to read any Maggie Stiefvater book… *hides in a corner*. I’m going to start soon with The Raven Boys, and I’m excited, however, after reading your review, I’m even more excited to get that one sometime ahah, I love those quotes! 🙂

    Like

    1. Well I’m glad to hear you’re going to read Maggie Steifvater soon! I want to read The Raven Boys too. *whispers* I actually looked the quotes up because I was too lazy to write them down for myself (plus I was hiking/travelling)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

