not books · shanti · Shar

Basically Just Move To the Himalayas Immediately

Basically Just Move To the Himalayas Immediately || Or, when photos are promised, we deliver

Shanti recently told you we would be away for a week. We got back, finished some final things for school, and are now basically free (apart from a zillion assemblies of various sorts) In 6 days, we took 497 photos, so it was super hard to decide which ones to share, but we tried *shrugs*. Here are some questions people might ask me:

Where did you guys go?

We went to Gangotri, a small town near the source of the Ganga (aka Baghirathi/Ganges) river. We walked to the source of the river (where it comes out of the glacier- pronounced gla-see-yer by the way), then passed it, and camped at about 4300 metres in a place called Thapavan. We saw a lot of nice mountains, which will be obvious soon.

What makes these mountains special?

If New Zealand’s mountains are gorgeous, the Himalayas are wilder, bigger, grander. They’re the highest mountain range in the world, and also the only ones we happen to live near.

And here’s some questions you probably won’t ask, but I’m going to ask myself anyway:

How do you pronounce ‘Himalaya’?

I’m glad you asked! (You totally didn’t). In Hindi, ‘Him’ is a word for snow, and ‘alaya’ is a suffix meaning ‘place of’ (creative name, right). ‘Him’ is pronounced just like what you say when referencing a male, and ‘alaya’ is not ‘a layer’ but actually ‘aah liya’.

I heard the Ganga was holy. What’s with that?

The story is that the people of earth were in drought. Compassionate Ganga, daughter of the creator god Brahma, offered to come down from heaven to help them, but if she just fell, she would squash everything. So Shiva (the destroyer god) offered to break her fall by letting her run through his dreadlocks. Now she is a lovely river. (Side note: Some are the photos are of the mountain Shivling, which means Shiv’s ling, which you can google if you really want to know what it is) (This is hindu mythology, which I don’t personally believe, but that’s what other people believe)

I’m going to stop talking now so you can look at photos.

DSC03233
shanti edited this; it’s a view down the valley

DSC03234

DSC03307
Meru
DSC03308
Shivling
DSC03416
Mountain with hanging glacier
DSC03490
Shivling at sunset
DSC03582
More sunset

Are these pretty or what? Do you say Himalaya (or glacier) properly? Are you going to move here? (the answer is yes,Β obvs) Do you like hiking? (me: everything except the bag.)

20 thoughts on “Basically Just Move To the Himalayas Immediately

  1. Huh, that’s really cool! Awesome vacation pics! I also really like learning a little bit of the history behind the mountains. We hear about them a lot (especially in geology classes) but I don’t think I’ve ever heard the mythology before. Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. SO BEAUTIFUL! Yes I will come to the Himalayas. You buying my ticket?
    (kidding, of course. ;p )
    Is it just me, or would “Alaya,” make a really cool name? *goes to stuff with rest of cool names*
    And yes! I like hiking but don’t get to do it very often. I especially enjoy it where there aren’t any mosquitoes.
    Have you ever heard of Sundar Singh? He trekked barefoot across the mountains multiple times to reach out to people on the Tibetan side.
    http://www.jeniquablog.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Yes! I lay claims on this name for my (nonexistent) firstborn. ! (yes, kidding) Are you talking about sadhu Sundar Singh (he was some christain of some sort if I remember correctly…) If so, yes, I have, and heard about him going to Tibet, etc. *hiking hi five*

      Like

      1. Haha, fine fine, you’ve got the name… honestly I’ve got more cool names than I have characters to give them too 😜
        Yes! That’s him. I forgot about his first name. There was a really neat biography I read about him a year ago or so.

        Like

      2. ‘Sadhu’ is more of a term denoting a holy man than a name (basically an honorific/like Dr. or Mr) but yes πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. AHH THESE ARE SO PRETTY and yes yes yes I want to go see the Himalayas immediately. So GOOD JOB on that convincing.πŸ˜‚ Although, no I don’t say Himalayas correctly and I feel bad. 😦 Although I DO say glaciers correctly so half points?! πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. HALF POINTS TO YOU (but only half). I honestly don’t know why I’m a book blogger when I good be a tourism agent (for multiple countries) . Anyway, I’m so glad you think it’s pretty! I’m going to attribute it more to the landscape than my photography skills XD

      Like

  4. I’m not much of a hiker since I have always lived in the city/suburbs. However, those pics were rather lovely!

    PS: Who doesn’t pronounce ‘glacier’ that way? XDD
    Now I know how to pronounce ‘Himalaya’!

    Like

  5. OH MY GOODNESS THESE ARE TOO GORGEOUS ❀ I can see you taking 497 photos easily, lol. Because there must have been so much to see. πŸ™‚

    Apparently, I do not pronounce Himalaya correctly. Or glacier, for that matter. Oh well. I am American.

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbosityreviews.com

    Like

    1. I SUPPOSE I can forgive you for the glacier thing. But next time you’re talking about the himalayas (which you do all the time, I’m sure) then you can feel all sophisticated with you pronunciation skills.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. These photos are GORGEOUS!!! I actually don’t really enjoy hiking — I guess you could say I’m more of a city girl. I don’t mind walking long distances; I just don’t particularly like the wilderness. 😁

    Like

  7. SO PRETTY. I totes knew glacier is pronounced that way, take that geography teacher. Did not know about Himalayas though. IT LOOKS SO GORGEOUS.

    Like

  8. THOSE PICTURES. This looks absolutely gorgeous. I’m more of a city kind of person, but I would love to go there someday, it sounds way too gorgeous. I’m not much of a hiking person either, but I can walk for miles and miles to explore a city, so…maybe I’d be good at hiking? πŸ™‚
    And glad you’re back! πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Maybe you would be good at hinting, who knows? In India and Nepal, if you ever go, you can hire people to carry all your stuff for not that much, and in some places there are small hotels and restaurants which you can get food from. This is mainly popular routes, like this one, which had a lot of pilgrims. I’m glad I’m back too. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

