books · Shar · tags

The Reread, Rewrite, Burn tag

Hi Virtually Readers! Heather at Sometimes I’m a Story tagged us for the reread, rewrite, burn tag, which is what I’m going to be doing today.

The rules: 

  • Choose 15 books
  • Divide into groups of 3
  • For each group, choose one to burn, one to rewrite, and one to reread

(basically Kiss, Kill, Marry except better because it’s BOOKS)

I chose a whole lot of books from my bookshelf and wrote their names down and drew groups from the Plastic Box of Doom then used my Sticky Notes of Decision to decide which to do what to.

DSC02977
The Plastic Box of Doom (way better than a hat)

Group 1

DSC02979

  • Reread: Jane Eyre because it is wonderful and has interesting language, even if it’s a bit depressing.
  • Rewrite: A Mad, Wicked Folly. I just finished this and it dealt really well with women’s rights in the early 20th century, but some of the language/characters didn’t fit that well with the time period.
  • Burn: The Circle. I feel bad about this (sorry!) because the premise is good, and it’s not an awful book. But I didn’t like some of the characters, and how they basically died all over the place.

Group 2

DSC02981

  • Re-Read: The Girl With All The Gifts because it’s quirky and original and sad and will give you feels.
  • Re-Write: Ketchup Clouds. It’s been quite a while since I read this, but the main problem with it is that the ending was… anticlimactic. No spoilers, but the MC spends the entire book thinking she did this thing and then she just decides she didn’t.
  • Burn: The Girl Who Could Fly. I feel really bad about this, because it’s an amazing MG about a girl who can fly (surprise), but I’ve probably grown out of it just a bit.

Group 3

DSC02985

  • Reread: The Crossing of Ingo because it was an amazing series finale with wonderful character development and settings. I loved the way it tackled the theme of dual belonging.
  • Rewrite: Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I LOVED Days of Blood and Starlight, but this felt like a really long prologue whose purpose was just to introduce characters and settings and put in a bit of world building. I would make it more plottish rather than introductiony.
  • Burn: Solitaire. This book was fine, but the MC really annoyed be and it didn’t change my life or anything.

Group 4

DSC02987

  • Reread: Good Enough because it is just about finding where you belong and what makes you happy in a world full of expectations. The MC is amazing and I really identified with her.
  • Rewrite: Apple and Rain. It dealt well with issues of family and belonging, but could be written better, I think. Then again, it’s been over a year since I read it and I don’t remember it too well.
  • Burn: Waves by Sharon Dogar. This book had a good premise but didn’t really work for me. It was supposed to be contemporary with maybe a bit of magical realism but it didn’t seem that realistic.

Round 5

DSC02989

  • Reread: When We Wake. I loved the narrative style, the characters, the themes it tackled.
  • Rewrite: Fairest, which made me be like ‘I get why you suck, Levana, but I still hate you’. I don’t know how I would make it better, because it was pretty well written, but I didn’t like it as much as When We Wake.
  • Burn: A Corner of White, which I was somewhat reluctant to do. Mainly I can’t remember a lot of it, so I’m just going to burn it. (I should stop apologising to the burned books)

I tag…

Alyssa

Cait

Alexa

Which of these would YOU read/rewrite/burn? Which would you refuse to do anything to? Is this a fun tag or what?

12 thoughts on “The Reread, Rewrite, Burn tag

  1. Oh this is such a fun tag! (And I love this blog by the way. New follower woo!)
    I feel like if I did this, I would apologize to all the “burn” books too, just because burning books is such an unappealing idea and no book deserves that fate *shiver*
    I haven’t read many of the books you featured, but a bunch are on my TBR, with The Girl With All the Gifts being #1.

    Like

    1. *waves at new follower* I’m glad you like it! And I am totally against the idea of burning any books (Farenheit 451 dystopias may ensue. Or y’know, Nazi-style brainwashing) The Girl With All the Gifts is like a DEEP zombie novel basically. 😛

      Like

  2. Oh this is such a fun tag! (And I love this blog by the way. New follower woo!)
    I feel like if I did this, I would apologise to all the “burn” books too, just because burning books is such an unappealing idea and no book deserves that fate *shiver*
    I haven’t read many of the books you featured, but a bunch are on my TBR, with The Girl With All the Gifts being #1.

    Like

  3. Ahhhh! Thanks for doing the tag! (And I apologize for my late response. I’ve been so behind lately.) YES to Jane Eyre, which is a marvelous book, and I’m beginning to agree with you that Daughter of Smoke and Bone could use a rewrite… I actually liked the first one a lot, but I don’t think it did a good job of setting up the rest of the series because it was prologuey which limited our ability to understand the next two. :/ Aaaaand I could see Fairest needing a rewrite but I liked it pretty much but I can understand liking it less than another book. I loved the pictures and the way you set up this tag! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you 🙂 I’m obviously an extremely persuasive person. All I have to do is declare a point of view and people start believing me 🙂 Jane Eyre is truly fabulous.

      Like

  4. Thanks for the tag! And Plastic Box of Doom = the COOLEST AND DOOMIEST. 😛 I actually quite enjoyed Daughter of Smoke and Bone — I read the first book as a standalone and thought there was sufficient plot to go around. *shrugs* And *whispers* I’ve never read Jane Eyre. Whoops.

    Like

    1. Well you should! (or, y’know, if you haven’t got other books to read and want to look sophisticated) I agree that the Plastic Box of Doom was rather doom 🙂 Maybe if I hadn’t known about DoSaB’s sequels I might have seen it differently? I guess I found Karou’s revelation at the end not super surprising.

      Like

  5. I haven’t read any of these! *scribbles all of your rereads down to read for the first time* This looks like a brilliant tag; thanks so much for tagging me! I’ll get to it ASAP. 🙂

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbositybookreviews.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

