not books · shanti · Shar

Virtually Different

After all our mutterings about a new design in August, we FINALLY did it!

Why change?

We kind of made up our old blog name on the spot and have since grown in blog smarts and talent for design (ha ha ha). We felt it was time to move on from weaving waves words since we’ve changed plenty since we began and this name seemed perfect!

So what’s with the name?

We liked the name ‘virtually read’ (suggested by our father) because it’s a pun (red…read, get it?), and it’s on the bookternet (hence the ‘virtually’) and because it sounds nice and just seems right.

DSC02813

Β What’s changed?

Firstly, and most obviously, the design. We now have a sidebar (it’s a work in progress), a new theme, a new colour scheme (which is pretty awesome, if we do say so ourselves), and header (designed by moi) and follow us buttons.

Shanti and I have now got separate WordPress accounts. We hope this’ll help you know who replied to your comment/wrote a comment and who wrote the post that you’re reading (because it’s good to have this kind of thing clear.)

We’ve totally revamped our tags/categories section. To be honest, when we started we had no idea how to use tags so we have some based on the days of the weeks (because that totally relates to content) and random names of characters(even though we love you, Michael Holden) and other nebulous things like ‘awesome’. For categories we now have the author of the post, the type of post, and subject mater of the post. For tags we’ve got genres, star ratings for reviews, and quality of book which was appealing for reviews (e.g if the book had good characters, ‘characters’ would be a tag)

We’re doing some new features…. more on that later.

We’ve re-done our about page, and we’re going to TRY (emphasis on the try part) to keep our book review index page updated.

But it’s hard to deal with all this change, right?

What hasn’t changed?

The authors- Shanti and I are still going to be the authors of the post, and we’ll be alternating weeks in which we blog.

The content- while we are going to have new features, the quality of the writing and general ideas behind it are going to be the same– just as awesome. (or maybe even more awesome)

The URL- because we’re lazy and moving blogs seem hard, and then we’d have to re link with bloglovin’ and everything would be hard and confusing and it just doesn’t quite seem necessary.

The amazingness- because we couldn’t get rid of that even if we tried.

How do you feel about our new design? Any suggestions? Isn’t Virtually Read a good title? (and no, that’s not a question) Can you deal with this change in your life? (yes, we hope.)

14 thoughts on “Virtually Different

  1. I’ve really enjoyed your new blog design! It looks good. I think the red is loud and bold without being painful or awkward. And I look forward to getting your same enjoyable content as you move in to this new design! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I LOVE THE NEW DESIGN!! And I’m glad you’ll be having your own WP accounts because I always love it when it’s easy to know who I’m shrieking at. hehe. ;D And the colour scheme is fabulous and omg EVERYTHING. and I sooo understand about cleaning up tags and all that. When I started blogging….ha. I had no idea about anything. I didn’t even realise that in order to get readers you had to go out and find some. -_- Hmm. So I think you two are doing utterly fabulously.

    (Also I don’t know how easy it is to change URLS in free-wordpress, buuuuut when I changed from Notebook Sisters to Paper Fury it was SO easy with bloglovin’. Not that it matters since you’re not changing that but I just thought I’d mention it. :P)

    CAN’T WAIT TO READ MORE OF YOUR FABULOUSNESS, YOU TWO.

    Like

    1. Of course you’ve got to shriek to the right person πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for the comment though. You’re so nice. We had a bit of trouble with the finding readers too, until we realised that blogging was a community thing, not a ‘hello internet. I’ll wait for you to come and read this random thing (i.e, blog) that I left lying around’. We did think about changing URLs but eventually decided not to, although considering how much better this name is it’s definitely something that would be fine. Anyway, thank you so much! We’re super pleased with the change (like, we both kept randomly going on to our new site just to look at it. Honestly.)

      Like

  3. I’m totally loving the new website design!! And the name is perfect as well. I actually am not really a “red” sort of person, but you guys make it work! πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. New design is absolutely lovely! (I would recommend making the very right end of the new header white instead of the blue line?) but otherwise I ADORE IT. Especially that there’s another red-lover like me in the blookunity ❀ ❀ And I feel you on being too lazy to change the URL and relink everything! I was the exact same with my blog, although I think I shall be changing that URL to a custom domain finally when I turn 18.

    Like

    1. Thank you! Red is my favourite colour (not sure about Shanti) And I fixed that blue line- must have been some problem with the scanning πŸ™‚ We’re rather excited…

      Like

  5. Oh my gosh your new design is GORGEOUS! Normally I’m not a big fan of the colour red, but you made it totally awesome–I love the colour schemes, and the header is just AMAZING.
    I can never get enough punny titles, so yeah, you get a MELODY APPROVES stamp. I LIKE IT. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you! It’s still going to take some tweaking but we’re really pleased. I’m glad you like it and it’s not too blinding πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

