books

Beautiful Books- I’m plotting something

Greetings, O Blog Readers & blookunity ( I need to work on my collective nouns) I have had a really busy week/month (as always pretty much) but the tide of homework is subsiding somewhat, and I haven’t done much today (I mean, I woke up early, ran in a 10 k race, then have lazed around after that, feeling entitled) I was away and had *slightly* more free time last week, which resulted in the plot of a novel. I’m not doing NaNoWriMo, because of aforementioned busyness (music exams, newspaper editing, homework, projects, field trips & other *fun* things) But I saw beautiful books on Cait’s blog, so whatever, I’m linking up, for a fantasy novel that I’ll write sometime in the future.

-Shanti

bb-redone

1.How did you come up with the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?

I can’t quite remember this, because it’s been lurking in my head for a while… I guess maybe May, when I  was plotting Entreaty, putting together a creative writing portfolio for a school thing, and writing a short story for some reason.

2. Why are you excited to write this novel?

I’m excited to write this, because I love reading fantasy, and want to write one, and I really want to explore some of the themes, and to anyone who has to make choices it seems like a fascinating way to explore what decisions you can and can’t make for others.

3.What is your novel about, and what is the title?

My novel is about a girl called Kaera, who lives in the country of Taepecia. She also has a son called Falin- but because the father isn’t around and she refuses to tell anyone about him, she’s sort of stigmatized by the village she lives in, or pitied because of her withered arm, which happened during the war. And her parents are missing- they were diplomats to Caliseland and disappeared. One day, the Gima, the mages of the land, turn up, and explain that Falin is the chosen one. in three months time, Kaera must turn up in the capital city (which is still unnamed) and kill him in the hall of magic. Then the destruction wrought by the war will disappear, and Kaera’s arm will be healed, shell become a super important person, and be able to pursue her old dream of becoming a trombonist. So she goes to Caliseland in search of shelter, because she doesn’t want to kill her son…but she does want to heal and become a musician and become a savior… so what should she do? *pauses for breath* It is tentatively titled ‘True: Choices and Carnage‘, but I’m sure I’ll think of a different title at some point.

4. Sum up your characters in one word each. (Feel free to add pictures!)

Falin: needy

Kaera: uncertain

Rekha (friend who Kaera meets on her journey): enthusiastic

5.Which character(s) do you think will be your favourite to write? Tell us about them!

I’m really excited to write about Rekha, because she’s got a great backstory, and also the Gima, because creepy magic people are fun to write about.

6.What is your protagonist’s goal, and what stands in the way?

Her goal is a) to save Falin (because the creepy Gima could just take him from her and do the sacrifice though it wouldn’t be as powerful if she didn’t and b) to find her parents and Falin’s father in Caliseland.

7.Where is your novel set? (Show us pictures if you have them!)

I don’t have pictures (because though I might not be able to stay away from the library, I’ve managed to retain my sanity and not join Pinterest, and google images bore me), and it’s a fantasy but Taepecia is a mountainous area, and a democracy, and Caliseland is a sort of breadbasket/ plains area. Taepecians are mostly sedentary, but some are nomadic, and there are a lot of shepherds, and Caliselanders are farmers. In terms of culture, I haven’t really planned that out yet, but I’m thinking that it will be partially inspired by the cultures of mountain people vs. plains people in South/Southeast Asia. I haven’t really reached that stage yet, though!

8.What is the most important relationship your character has?

This is a hard question, because she would say, without her parents, her relationship with Falin. But it is making friends with Rekha that really restores Kaera’s faith in herself.

9.How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?

By the end of True:Choices and Carnage, Kaera is better at making decisions (because as the title indicates, a lot of them are necessary) and knows that she can’t expect to belong instantly. She also knows the value of dreams, and when to sacrifice them, and how to accept herself and her limitations a little bit more.10.What themes are in your book? How do you want your readers to feel when the story is over?

I want my possible readers to feel sad, and upset, and surprised, because there’s a bit of plot twist/ cliffhanger at the end. I guess True: Choices and Carnage will mostly deal with themes of belonging and identity and honesty and the aftermath of violence. I’m kind of nervous about writing a character with a child, because clearly I have no experience in what it’s like to be a mother. But I’ll do lots of research and talk to my parents and stuff… we’ll see.

11. BONUS! Tell us your 3 best pieces of advice for others trying to write a book in a month.

Well, I’ve done this once before, so

1.Write even when you don’t want to and when it doesn’t make sense,

2. Have a wordcount goal for every day that you can stick to

3.Don’t let the book consume your life- try to read and sleep and eat a little bit as well.

Are you doing NanoWrimo, even if I’m not? What do you think of this story- does it sound ridiculous or interesting (I’m currently leaning towards ridiculous so…) How do you make time to write in your (undoubtedly) busy life?

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Books- I’m plotting something

  1. Creepy magic people ARE always the most fun to write of ever. *nods* And this sounds sooooo good!!! I think it’s a bit exciting to write about stuff one doesn’t know, right?! I’m sure you’ll do great writing a character with a kid. 😉 I’m tentatively setting my book in Japan (of which I’ve never been there…) but if It just collapses around my ears, I’ll switch it to China. Because at least I HAVE been there, if only for a month. SO YEAH. omg I am rambling here.
    You ran a 10K race?!?! CONGRATS OMG I AM IN AWE. I think you get to lie around after that. ;))

    Like

    1. Creepy magic people are the best, for both writing and reading. It’s good to have to research- but I’m more comfortable writing what I do know about (hellooooo contemporaries about nerdy lighting technicians lol) I’ve been to China for 48 hours and Japan never. I guess when it comes to setting stories, I usually default in India or New Zealandish places- I’m sort of worried about cultural appropriation. It was longer than I thought it was going to be, so I definitely deserved to lie around 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

