not books · Uncategorized

It’s a Blogoversary !(lets celebrate)

You guessed right from the title. Weaving Waves Words is turning one! We are extremely excited and so today there is a survey and a look at stats and a giveaway and a look into the future and lots and lots of gratitude. Thank you so much for being part of this entire experience. Also it’s India and South Korea’s birthday, so shout out to people who celebrate that!

blogoversary1

Stats (rounded, for the curious)

  • six thousand total page views (US, UK, India, Australia, New Zealand and others)
  • one thousand three hundred amazing visitors (That is a lot of people. I don’t know if I know that many people.)
  • 85 extremely excellent followers (you guys all rock. )
  • 400 comments (woah, like what?)
  • Over 100 posts (okay, this one was actually our accomplishment. Not so bad, no?)

Thanks to

  • Our parents/family who don’t really mind when Shanti yells “I’ll come for dinner once I finish this book review” and help us deal with library dilemmas (look, it’s a real thing) Also supplying e readers.
  • Our in-real-life friends who subscribed and fangirled and were otherwise awesome in every way (you know who you are <3)
  • Our subscribers, for commenting and reading, and otherwise making everything awesome
  • All the other bloggers who are so supportive and tag us and make us feel welcome 🙂
  • anyone who made us love books, because you are the reason for all of this.

 

In the future

  • There might be a name change and/or some design change, since we’re not great fans of the name. However, we are not exactly experts at blog design things so it probably won’t be too drastic.
  • We’re going to change the theme at some point
  • We are pretty busy with school, but we’ll still be posting regularly, and doing our best to comment on your wonderful posts.
  • Shanti’s going to get twitter….when she’s not super busy, so I can procrastinate more.

What have we learned?

When we started blogging, we had about zero clue about what we wanted to do with it. Our English teacher and a few other people had kind of encouraged us, and we’d wanted to for about 6 months before we actually started. We had originally intended to do a lot more about writing and share our writing as well as some book reviews and random things (which you’ll find buried in our archives). But we had no idea that the world of book and writing blogging existed, and to be honest, I’m surprised we got any views at all. One fateful day, Shanti was scrolling through Marissa Meyer’s Twitter a few months after we’d started blogging. We discovered Bookish Serendipity, and Paper Fury, and, well, the rest was history.

We’ve learned to write relevant posts, to reply to comments and try to comment back, about all the wonderful people who exist on the internet (and really, if you’re reading this, you are one of them). We’ve been introduced to amazing new books and ideas and best of all, people (like I said before, if you’re reading this you are one)

Survey of interesting (with some basic feedback questions)

Amazing blogs we’ve discovered (and there are a lot more too, these are just a few. We have bad memories, okay?) Paper Fury, Loony Literate, Once Upon a Bookish Time, the Quiet People, Sometimes I’m a Story, The Devil Orders Takeout, Opal Swirls, Quenching the Quill and Diary of a Teen Writer.

And last of all, we were wondering about a new name for you readers.

So THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU to all the people who have been so amazing as we’ve learned about blogging. You’re the best, we can’t say this enough. We have loved this first year of blogging, there is no way we’re going to stop anytime soon, and YAY! *throws confetti!*

15 thoughts on “It’s a Blogoversary !(lets celebrate)

  1. Congratulations on your blogiversary! I’d totally bake you a cake, but I think by the time it travels from England to India it would be stale. And no one wants a stale cake, right? But I’ll send you a virtual cake instead.
    Anyway, this was such a lovely post to read – I think bloggers are often too critical of themselves, but actually, blogging is hard work and you should totally celebrate your achievements! Also, your plans for the future sound wonderful. I’m not amazing at coding or graphics or blog design (so I bought my layout), but I know there are amazing tutorials out there – I designed my old blog completely by myself using those, and it didn’t look too shabby in the end! It just takes a lot of time, that’s all…
    Anyway, happy blogiversary and good luck for the future!
    Beth x
    http://www.thequietpeople.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, congrats on your first year of blogging! It’s always exciting when these things come up because it’s almost like having another birthday, haha. Anyway, here’s to many more!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY. Your blog is all grown up now 🙂 I’m so happy you’ve achieved so much in one year. Your plans sound lovely and I look forward to seeing all of them. And thank you for naming my blog, eek.

    Psst, nominated you for a tag on my blog, but I think you saw that 🙂

    Like

  4. Congratulations on your first year! A blogaversary is so exciting, and with your statistics it’s pretty clear that you’re still up and growing. 🙂 I look forward to seeing the new theme, any new names you decide on, and the rest of the things you will do this year and the next! Thanks for the shout-out, and CONGRATS AGAIN!

    Like

    1. Thank you Heather! I guess so! I’m really surprised that we have so many followers and comments and everything. Well, you deserved it 🙂 You’re one of my big blogging inspirations ❤ Oooh, now I feel the wight of expectations (sort of…)
      -Shanti

      Like

  5. AHHHHH CONGRATS ON BEING ONE YEAR OLD!! (Although you are technically little tiny toddler bloggers, tho, so I can still smush cake in your hair and run away cackling.) AHEM. Also you’ve done so so much for just one year! In my first year I think I head 5 followers and a million posts and zero comments. HAHA. *ahem* I was the most hopeless of hopeless bloggers to begin with. (Now I’m fab of course *flips hair*)

    AWwwww. :’) *squishes you both in hugs* YOU ARE SO NICE.

    And I’m excited to see what name you change to and the new theme! Blogging looks/changes can be quite fun. I’m nearly ready to revamp myself and SO EXCITED.

    Anyway, here’s to many more years of blogging and keep up the fabulous work you two!! :DD

    Like

    1. If such cake smushing occurs, you may face serious repercussions. hahaha just kindding. Thank you for all your support, we really do try our best. I don’t know what ‘so so much for one year’ means but I think we did quite well. Thank you for the sup pore (and yeah, you are fab but don’t start expanding your ego now)

      Like

Leave a Reply

