Uncategorized

Beautiful People: Friendship (you get to hear about what I wrote)

So I may have said this to you guys or I may have not (don’t analyze my grammar there, okay) but in June, I wrote a book! It’s currently 50 000 words that really need a lot of help (its in a very first draft stage), but I wrote it in 17 days and I’m quite proud. So when I saw that Beautiful People was happening, I was immediately determined to participate.

beautifulpeopleBut before we begin, I should tell you a little about what Entreaty, which is my novels title, is about. It’s set around 2050 in Delhi, when climate change has changed everything about the way the world works but not very much about the way people work. The story is about Pelican (don’t laugh at my names, because I like them) who is Nigerian Indian. Due to a variety of unforeseen circumstances she has ended up, despite being only an intern, as the only Nigerian representative as India and Nigeria go through treaty negotiations. She is staying with the French ambassadors family and she makes friends with the ambassadors son, Asli. As a kidnapping or possible act of political terrorism uproots the negotiations, and there are secrets surrounding them, she and Asli have to get to the bottom of a political mystery, but the stakes are high.
1. How long have they known each other, and how close are they?

Asli and Pelican meet at the start of the Entreaty, and it takes them a while to become friends. The story takes place over about a month, and they become close, but they don’t always agree with each other, and they have some secrets from each other. They’re united by the shared mystery, but it means different things to both of them. Despite that, Pelican and Asli still become an awesome team.
2. What’s their earliest memory of being best friends?

When they went to Agra to see the ruins of the Taj Mahal (and overheard a surprising rendezvous there) they realised how important discovering the truth was, and knew that they had to get to the bottom of it. They both have personal reasons that mean they are way too invested, and they haven’t had close friends before, so from then on they were pretty close.
3. Do they fight? How long do they typically fight for?

They do fight, but never over serious things. Pelican is all officious and makes Asli help her when she has to attend meetings, and she also makes him do his homework. Asli gets annoyed and thinks that Pelican doesn’t do enough work, and feels uncertain about his mothers role in events. Pelican also hates it when Asli calls her Peli, so he does it just to ignore her.
4. Are their personalities similar or do they compliment each other?

Pelican is very professional and Asli is action based. They complement each other in terms of skills and knowledge, but in their hearts they are very similar: determined people who are willing to work for the truth.
5. Who is the leader of their friendship (if anyone)?

Pelican is kind of the leader, because she sort of initiates things, as does Asli’s mother. She has all the ideas. But when it comes to actually sitting down and planning things, Asli is much better. They’re an excellent team!
6. Do have any secrets from each other?

Well, Pelican doesn’t say anything about what she knows about how Asli’s mother was involved for a long time (there may have been some accidental hacking involved) and Asli takes a while to decide what to tell Pelican about the Russian ambassador, Yerzov.
7. How well do they know each other’s quirks and habits?

Not very well… they haven’t known each other for long. But they are getting used to each other and they know what to expect. Asli is used to Pelican’s awkwardness around the dishwasher robot and Pelican is used to Asli’s moaning about homework and school and weather. (he hates living in India, pretty much)
8. What kind of things do they like to do together?

They like sneaking around in the embassy district,  and attending parties where they get involved in serious political situations or overhear important things. Most of the time they spend together, though, is on the Cog, which is this transportation around Dehli sort of like a closed in ski lift, but everywhere and shiny and you program a destination. This transportation takes time (because while teleportation is technically possible, it is highly illegal for a variety of reasons) They have really good conversations while waiting to get places. Oh, and they like playing video games, an experience that Asli introduced Pelican to.
9. Describe each character’s fashion style (use pictures if you’d like!) How are their styles different/similar?

Asli has to wear a school uniform a lot of the time, which is blue and grey. Pelican has to be dressed professional: crisp skirts and make up,  or elaborate saris and salwar kameez’s for parties. She likes bright colours and presenting herself professionally. Asli at home is more into comfort, and also it’s really hot, so he wears shorts and sleeveless shirts. The world is ultra globalised, so there a lot of similarities between what they wear for formal events, especially as India is culturally dominant (sort of like the US is in English speaking countries right now) People speak a mix of English and Hindi according to the situation.
10. How would their lives be different without each other?

They wouldn’t know the truth….!

On a less dramatic note, they would be way lonelier, and they wouldn’t have learned to question some of the systems and people around them. They would also be less happy, because being with each other, even in the escape tunnels from the Russian Embassy, even when throwing up because someone nearby teleported, being able to talk to each other is comforting for them.

So, what did you think? Does Entreaty sound interesting? (I’m happy to hear feedback: believe me, I know it needs help) tell me anything, except that the names are ridiculous, in the comments!

16 thoughts on “Beautiful People: Friendship (you get to hear about what I wrote)

  1. YES IT SOUNDS INTERESTING, and pffft, I am not laughing at your names. I LOVE THEM. I love obscure and slightly different names, because they stick so much better in my head. 😄 Even my latest book, for instance, my female-character is called August (usually a boys name???) and my male-character is called Beck. XDXD SO I BELEIVE IN GENDER NEUTRAL NAMES TOO. *nods* Anyway. I loved reading this post and the sneaking sounds fabulous. This is totally the kind of book I wish to see on Goodreads. 😉
    Thanks for joining in. 😀

    Like

    1. (There were some people who said that my names were ridiculous, but haters gonna hate, right?) Yes, I love original names too (especially because all of my siblings have unique names) names are important (though there was a minor character whose name I forgot…) I’m glad you liked it. Sneaking is the best, especially if the sneaking is done in the ruins of Mughal palaces. Well, goodreads is still a way off, but if I hadn’t written it, I would want to read it as well (I know that doesn’t really make sense, but oh well)
      thanks Cait!

      Like

  2. THIS SOUNDS SO GOOD WELL DONE! Yes to diversity! (and lack of “LETS DESTROY THE ENTIRE GOVERNMENT REGIME!”) But the Taj Mahal can’t be in ruins. It’s too beautiful(ly expensive to make)

    Like

    1. Yay thanks Anna! (serious I am SO SICK of that. Pelican is the government, see?) No, there was a big sandstorm and that giant mess that is agra was abandoned (I wrote an entire separate short story prequel about it that I can send to you if you’re curious…) those Mughals were WEALTHY.

      Like

    1. thanks emily! I love dehli and go there pretty often, and it has such an amazing history. I haven’t actually read all fall down, but there are a lot of premise similarities, but Pelican actually has power to do things and she has to face a whole lot of ethical choices 🙂

      Like

  3. Congrats on finishing a book in such a small stretch of time, I have tried and failed that many times. This sounds like a very compelling read I also like that it’s set somewhere else in the world. I am so bored of most books happening only in America. I also really like the names, Pelican is an awesome name.

    Like

    1. Aaagh, thanks so much 🙂 I was lucky to have school holidays at the time otherwise it would have been impossible. Yeah, I notice that almost all dystopia books are set in the US, probably because that’s where the authors are from, but I know nothing about the US and quite a bit about India. I’m glad you like the names (my sister laughed)

      Like

  4. YES THIS IS WONDERFUL. First of all, huge congratulations in finishing your first draft so quickly. Secondly, YAY FOR DIVERSITY. YAY FOR POLITICAL DIVERSITY. YAY FOR AWESOME NAMES AND SNEAKING INTO DIPLOMATIC PARTIES. Basically just this sounds so fabulous and I cannot wait to read this.

    Like

    1. Thanks Alyssa 🙂 You’re awesome too…. DIVERSITY IS SO IMPORTANT OH MY GOODNESS YES. though I had to do quite a bit of research on Nigeria and I”ll have to do more. Diplomatic parties are delightful. I have once been to an embassy which helps out with all the details of south dehli and things (though I was seven at the time…. ) There may be some sneak peeks in the future and there will certainly be more beautiful people, so you’ll get to hear more.

      Like

  5. Hey thats too interesting…….. May be a sort of sci-fi (I know its not) but still you are writing about a future and extremely globalised world. Great. Also, there is teen/young perspective on various issues with the leads themselves young and the best part is that it is a political drama. Oh My God! I am really excited coz I am very interested in political issues. I would be glad to know my 2050 India.

    Great Job
    And
    All the Best!

    Like

    1. Thank you Sheetal, globalisation and the future are very interesting to me (thanks, Human Geography class) and I love India a lot, so I wanted to write a book about it. Politics is fascinating (though often depressing) Well, it’s not quite a utopia, but thanks…. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

