Uncategorized

Unpopular opinions tag

By Shar

Hi readers! Ages ago I (Shanti too, actually) was tagged by Cait to do this Unpopular Opinions tag. Note that all the images are taken from google images, usually the first I found or the cover I had when I read it. So here we go!

1. A Popular book or series you didn’t like

I can think of quite a few. But most controversial here is the Mortal Instruments. I know most people loved it (Shanti did, for example. She recommended it, like she does a lot of books.) I found it boring and the characters weren’t that likeable. The plot felt contrived and I got to the third book and gave up. Apparently the Clockwork Devices is better… but I don’t really feel like attempting it.

The other book/ author I didn’t really like is John Green. Don’t get me wrong, I love his blogs, and Crash Course got me through World History, but I think his books are overrated. I haven’t read all of them, but I just didn’t like the characters choices or the ending of looking for Alaska, and I though TFIOS was good but not amazing. The characters weren’t really like teenagers. And An Abundance of Katherines was all about making the audience laugh.

2. A popular book/series everybody hates but you love

Hmm. I’m having difficulty thinking of any, but I really liked Jaclyn Moriarty’s A corner of White series, which some people didn’t. That’s about all I can think of.

[

3. A love triangle where you didn’t like who the main character ended up with

I just finished The Summer I Turned Pretty and I really didn’t ship that couple. I also think something Similar about Katniss in the Hunger Games.

253d5-9780141330532

4. A popular genre you hardly read

I don’t really read much romance or urban fantasy or classics (although those aren’t popular really), and thrillers (although, for lack of anything else, I started a Jeffrey archer which was pretty good so far)

5.  A popular/beloved character you dislike

Again, I can’t think of many, but I didn’t really like Tori from Solitaire, or Sloane from The Program (that was partly because I hated her name though)

6. A popular author you can’t seem to get into

Like I said, I struggled with Cassandra Clare. Also Garth Nix.I gave up on Sabriel.(Despite all the ravings shanti throws at me at all hours of the day)

7. A popular trope you’re tired of reading

Well I can think of a lot here. One is a dystopia world where everything sucks and then the protagonist runs away to rebel. Just work with the government, why can’t you. All the rebels usually know nothing about government, and want to destroy everything and start a new system which might not even work. This happens in a lot of things, but for example the Hunger Games, The Program, Delerium, Matched, Divergent (although that had a bit of a twist)

8. A popular series you have no interest in reading

Twilight (I started it at the beginning of 2012, but it was boring), Vampire Academy, Marked series by P.C and Kristin Cast (I also read the first book but just no.), Holly Black’s books, Fifty Shades of Grey

9. A movie you liked better than the book

There really aren’t many. I’m going to go with Bridge to Terabithia. I watched the movie first, and it was about 6 or 7 years ago, but I think it’s one of the best movie adaptations I’ve seen, and was generally really good. Plus it was filmed in New Zealand!

So, I tag (but feel free to do it if you haven’t, and if you’ve already been tagged this is more motivation. But no pressure)

Alyssa@ The Devil Orders Takeout | Heather@Sometimes I’m a story | Precious@Clockwork Desires | Alexa@summer Snowflakes | Nirvana@Quenching The Quill |

Do you agree with any of these unpopular opinions? Disagree? Have anything to add? Tell us in the comments!

21 thoughts on “Unpopular opinions tag

  1. Omg, no to Holly Black? BUT WHY, SHAR? YOU’RE BREAKING MY HEART. _> I didn’t think it was as awful as everyone makes out, but I certainly wasn’t interested in it. WAH.
    And I’m pretty tired of dystopian too.
    ALSO I LOVED BRIDGE TO TERABITHIA BOOK AND MOVIE. But the movie was pretty darn adorable. :’)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure Holly Black is great and all, Cait. But there are heaps of other good books that are just more interesting to me. I watched the first Spiderwick movie, for example, but I just never got around to the books. And they seem a bit scary which isn’t my thing. * pats Cait consolingly on the back in an apologetic manner*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I started the Mortal Instruments, too! I liked some parts of it, but gave up after book 3 cuz I just didn’t see the point of continuing any further. :p

    I’m not into John Green either! To be fair, I haven’t actually read his stories (started Looking for Alaska, but wasn’t motivated to finish), but, although I do like contemporary, his just don’t seem like type.

    And I LOVE THE BRIDGE TO TERABITHIA MOVIE!!! I don’t think I’ve ever read the book (if I did, it was when I was years ago), but the movie is amazing! The character portrayals, the acting, the settings… goodness it was beautiful! 😀

    Like I said on my blog, I’ve already done this tag, but thanks for thinking of me! It’s a fun one, isn’t it? 🙂

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbositybookreviews.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This tag was fun, I agree (although apparently my opinions on John Green and TMI aren’t that unpopular.) I didn’t hate John Green, but I just think we have to acknowledge all the other great contemporary authors out there, y’know? The movie is sooooo good and I really like Josh Hutcherson and Anna Sophia robb in it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I adore dystopia. It’s also given me great social skills. “Hey, you seem really cool, do you want us to take down homicidal president together” idk 😄

    ALSO YESS. The Bridge to Terebithia movie is love. I cry every time.

    Like

    1. You’re social skills are just the best, Nirvana. I hope you don’t scare people off (tbh, if someone said that to me I would be a little weirded, which IS a word, don’t question it.)
      I adore dystopia too!

      Like

  4. I feel like everyone is having this moment where they think they’re alone in not being interested in John Green but actually a lot of people feel that way. It’s crazy! I am a thriller person, so I guess we differ there, but I agree that the government trope is getting a little old even though it is one of my favorite things to read. Alas. Not those particular books though. I did not like Matched. We’re going to disagree on Twilight, too, because I love that series, but it looks like you don’t like paranormal in general. Thanks for sharing your unpopular opinions!

    Like

    1. Actually, I agree with you. It seems John green is quite popular on all the unpopular opinions I’ve read! On the other hand, my friends and people at school who aren’t as avid readers are all really into John Green. And if you go by NYT bestsellers… maybe he’s popular in real life but not among book bloggers? I guess I don’t think the government trop is bad, just exhausting to read. I know you’re a twilight lover, and I won’t hate you for that. You’re entitled to your opinion too. 😀

      Like

  5. I’m curious … did you ship Katniss/Gale? I have to admit I didn’t ship either of the ships and wanted Katniss to just leave the lot alone and become the vodka aunt to Finnick and Annie’s kid. Or learn to design clothes with Effie. Or something. But I do want to know why you didn’t like the ending?

    And YES to the dystopia. I would really love to read or write a book about kids toppling the government and just failing at bureaucracy or agriculture or something. And then THEY become the oppressive gov’t. *adds to to-be-written list*

    Thank you for the tag! I can’t promise when I’ll get to it, but I shall try. 🙂

    Like

    1. I think I agree, I didn’t actually ship Katniss with anyone. But Peeta was just too good for her, I think. But it’s been quite a while since I read these so I really don’t exactly remember, but I feel like she ended up with Peeta. I totally shipped Finnick and Annie though. They were just amazing (Kai and Cinder are my OTP) 🙂

      Like

  6. I’ve never really been able to get into The Mortal Instruments series, either, mostly because the movie ruined it for me, I’m sure. And John Green’s books are so popular that they’ve all pretty much been spoiled for me. Oh, and Bridge to Terabithia! ❤ that movie. Also, thanks for tagging me!

    Like

  7. Thank youuuu for the John Green and Cassandra Clare stuff. I’ve never been into their books, either, and I’ve honestly been confused by all the hype about them. But oh well. *sighs*

    Like

  8. I totally agree with the first one. Not about John Green, but about TMI series. I tried reading it last summer, and felt like it was a drag. My friend insists I give it another go as they apparently get better- but I don’t really want to force myself to continue with a series I don’t like. I disagree about Tori Spring however- I loved her cynical and pessimistic ways- as that reminded me of myself. Also, about Katniss- I’m so glad she ended up with Peeta. I just felt like it HAD to end up with them together- I just couldn’t imagine her and Gale in a romantic relationship. 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m told that the clockwork series is better, but then I don’t want to try, because there are so many good book waiting to be read out there. I think Tori Spring did a really good job of being a relatable character, without being just ‘average’ or normal. Maybe cause it was a teen author? But I found her a bit grumpy. I preferred michael. I guess I just felt like Peeta was too good for Katniss, I don’t know. Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s so true- I often force myself with a book that I’m not totally enjoying, because I don’t want to leave it unfinished- but I don’t particularly like doing that as it takes the enjoyment out of reading; and like you said, there are so many other great books to be read out there! Yes, I definitely think it is because it was written by a young teenager. I guess she was just writing from her experiences, and how she feels other teenagers may be like. Michael was a good character, too 🙂 Ahh I understand there. I feel like he was great for her- I mean at first, she was this stubborn, close-minded girl, but Peeta changed that. I don’t know, I just think he changed her for the better 🙂 I mean they ended up having children when before, Katniss had said she was never having kids! No problem! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

