book review

Mini Reviews for all the books I read in the last few weeks

I love writing reviews. But they are energy and time consuming. So for all the books I don’t write full reviews for, I write shorter opinions with varying grammar. I shall now subject enlighten you with all the books I haven’t been reviewing fully, but still have an opinion on

-Shanti

A Confusion of Princes by Garth Nix (3 stars)

I really like Garth Nix (or, that is, the Old Kingdom Chronicles). This books displays his excellence at science fiction writing and the premise is fascinating but… there wasn’t that much plot. The Raine thing, though it ended up being vital, like a distraction to the actual plot, the eighth order thing didn’t materialise, there was a plot thread that utterly failed to become significant and the entire thing was slightly predictable. Khemri’s growing awareness of his sheltered life and his quick mind and privileged attitude made him an interesting character and the intergalactic exploits were fun to read about, but the book wasn’t as developed as I’d hoped.

September Girls by Bennet Madison (two stars)

I get what this book was trying to do. I really do. It was trying to talk about intransience and identity and manhood and friendship and love and summer, but it failed. Absolutely. Because it ended up being about physical trivialities and not beautiful places and curses. There wasn’t enough magic, just some weird girls and a boy who didn’t learn anything. And swore a lot and meaninglessly. I love the ocean and mermaids, but this didn’t have much of either. It didn’t achieve what it set out to do and the romance was strange and I didn’t connect to Sam the main character or even enjoy it. If you want to read what this blurb promises (without the terrible romance,) just go for Lost Voices by Sarah Porter.

Off the Page by Jodi Picoult (three stars)

This is my fourth Jodi Picoult novel (and the second one I’ve read with van Leer) It was entertaining, but not much more than that. The romance was ridiculous (and often contrived) I liked reading Edgar’s point of view, and I liked that Jules was a bigger part of the story. The magic made it interesting but all the coming and going in and out of the story just stretched the book on and on and on. Once again, I liked the illustrations, and I liked that parents were a big part of it (though Delilah’s family really doesn’t seem poor to me) Like all Jodi Picoult novels this one had a court case this one verged on the melodramatic. And the ending was nothing short of a fairy tale. That said, I liked this book, not as quality literature, but for the ‘fun’ characters, easy-to-relate themes  and entertainment factor.

Vivian versus the Apocalypse by Katie Coyle(five stars)

This is a completely fabulous book. The characters are totally appealing-I love Vivian’s vivacity ad verve, Harp’s courage and determination (and the interactions between her and Viv), Peter’s kindness and compassion and what an excellent team they make. All the minor characters- the teacher, Viv’s grandparents, her mother, Raj- are also complexly written. I like how the book pokes fun at the American culture of capitalism and consumerism, but not at religion itself, just fervent dogma’s which refuse to see any other perspective. I really liked the way it dealt with complex issues delicately and gave insight into people of all kinds, while being amusing and full of friendship and road trips.

The Year of the Rat, by Claire Furniss (three stars)

I understand what this author was trying to do. I have no idea what I’d do in Pearl’s situation. But her closed off-ness really irritated me, and she was so mean and she made so many dumb decisions and I just couldn’t connect to her at all. The writing was really good. The other thing that bothered me was that it was never defined about whether her mother was a ghost or what.
I loved the ending though. It was excellent.

Madame Tussaud, by Michelle Moran (four stars)

Around three years ago, I read Nefertiti, by Michelle Moran. I loved it. So when I saw this in the second-hand bookshop, I couldn’t resist (and who said that historical fiction teaches you nothing? This was way more in-depth than the French Revolution part of the AP world history course) I loved how Marie’s unique position, knowing nobles and revolutionaries, gives her the perfect perspective to tell this story. Even though I really got annoyed at some of the choices she made (e.g. business before Henri) I could understand her- wax modelling was the only world she had ever known, and she was loath to leave it. I also loved how the escalation of violence was chronicled, and the changes in relationships which that created. The only problem I had was the way that the abusive relationship with Francois was only mentioned in the end. Don’t get me wrong, this book was already MASSIVE, but I felt that it was really out of character for her, and it didn’t make sense, so that should have either not been mentioned or been more in depth.

So what did you think of my many mini (gosh, thats a tongue twister) reviews? Is it an experiment worth pursuing again? And have you read any of these books? Tell me what you think in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Mini Reviews for all the books I read in the last few weeks

  1. You should definitely do more mini-reviews. I’ve never read any of these, but Vivian Versus the Apocalypse sounds really interesting, and like my kind of read.

    Like

  2. Mini-reviews are a common practice in the book blogosphere, and it’s nice to read through them and get to know a bunch of books at once, so do continue doing them if you don’t feel up to a full review ^.^ A Confusion of Princes is SUCH a lovely title, so it’s a shame to hear it didn’t work out for you, but Vivian Vs. The Apocalypse (what is it with Character Vs Grand Thing contemporary titles nowadays?) is also a lovely title and I love road-trip stories ever since Station Eleven, so I shall add it to the TBR!

    Like

    1. that tbr looks terrifying, Alyssa. I write a mini review for all the books I don’t review fully, so this was fairly easy to compile :). I know, the title, as well as my history with Garth Nix totally drew me in. It wasn’t a terrible book, it just really needed to have better pacing. Vs. makes things sound all dramatic I guess. Vivian is certainly an awesome exploration of religion as well as a delightful ode to friendship and road trips.

      Like

  3. MY MANI MINI UM
    okay, I failed. xD
    I’m sad because I was looking forward to Off the Page (um, uh, I didn’t judge it by it’s cover or anything. At all. XD) But I can see why it didn’t work out and I feel compelled to stay away from it now.

    Like

    1. Off the Page is okay. Its just not serious If you do want to read it you still should! But if you really don’t like the romantic ridiculous drama, then maybe it’s not for you… but I did still like it. three stars!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

