Uncategorized

Holidays and life happenings

By Shar

Hi readers! We’re back from the holiday I mentioned two weeks ago in this post. We went to Kashmir, a reigon of northern India very close to the Pakistani border (India’s relationship with Pakistan is like the US and Canada or Australia and New Zealand except more antagonistic rather than friendly, so the whole place was crawling with military. We went through a lot of police checks and everything.) We did some trekking, and some museums/food/icecream eating. I thought I’d show you guys some photos and also give some stats. 

Hours of travelling while away (there and back):about 65

Number of nights: 15

Different places slept in:12

People on trip: 7 (including Shanti and I)

Lakes seen: a lot. At least 12, I’d say.

Lakes swum in: 1 (it was more like a dip, to be honest. The lake was positively glacial)

Novels started: 8

Novels finished: 4 (so yes, there will be some reviews coming soon, and I have to work on finishing the rest)

Nonfiction read: 2 (one was for school but go me)

Kobos killed: 1 (and this was 50% of the family kobo collection. I am glad to say it wasn’t my fault (it just got squished while packing) for anyone who remembers my terrible record for such things.)

cute boy on a boat
cute boy on a boat
flowers
flowers
fat marmot
fat marmot
mountain lake
mountain lake
another lake
another lake
horse
horse
rainbow (there was a lot of rain)
rainbow (there was a lot of rain)
this vengeful mud, the colour and texture of melted milk chocolate, pulled at our boots as if it wanted the meat from our toes. I had an idea for a post apocalyptic short story that I should write about it sometime.
this vengeful mud, the colour and texture of melted milk chocolate, pulled at our boots as if it wanted the meat from our toes. I had an idea for a post apocalyptic short story that I should write about it sometime.
horse skeleton
horse skeleton
I loved the oblivious sheep, the juxtaposition of life and death, sunshine and shadow
I loved the oblivious sheep, the juxtaposition of life and death, sunshine and shadow
a sunset, partially blocked by the shadow of a mountain
a sunset, partially blocked by the shadow of a mountain
and finally, when I got home, this is what 20 days of no brushing and very little washing did to my braided hair (it's normally very straight)
and finally, when I got home, this is what 20 days of no brushing and very little washing did to my braided hair (it’s normally very straight)
himalayas
himalayas
9 thoughts on “Holidays and life happenings

    1. Yeah, I prefer not to plaster my face around too much. And posting photos of the scenery helped me appreciate it, since sometime’s I’ve seen so much nice stuff I kinda get bored. I am glad to return to the world of internet though.

      Like

  1. WELCOME BACK. It looks like you had a pretty cool time (your comment on the glacial pond made me smile). The picture of the three on the lack is so cool because it looks like you’re standing on water, which I suppose you are if it is ice. Ice is just hard water. But I digress. Thanks for sharing such cool pictures with us!

    Like

    1. Actually we were standing on rocks, it’s just the angle I guess. There was a lot of ice in the lakes though. We did have a cool time, yeah. In the photo of me, my mother and shanti we were using self timer and the camera focused on the foreground not us, so that picture’s kinda strange. Thank you!

      Like

  2. THIS IS SO COOL! The mountains! The lakes! And snow in July! What altitude were you at? And you travelled for 65 hours?! Wow. Just wow.
    From your pictures, where you went seems to be like some wild and untamed paradise, haha. There are mountains in where I live as well (and quite a lot, I think) but there aren’t cool animals like sheep or marmots. And my family doesn’t go to the mountains that often, which is a shame. :p

    Like

    1. That is a shame! My parents are really into trekking, which is why we did it. I’m told there are a lot of mountains in Taiwan. Usually we camped between 3000 and 4000 metres, and the passes we crossed were all over 4100. All the snow was old though, from the winter I guess but it hadn’t melted. It made for some fun bum sliding. 😀

      Like

  3. Omg, SNOW AND YET YOU WENT SWIMMING?!! I can bet it was freezing. XD Yay that you’re back though, and I loved the pictures!! Bhhaha, I hope your hair wasn’t too knotty?! Mine has a bit of a natural kink but grrr I prefer it to be dead straight. BEAUTIFUL MOUNTAINS ALSO. OMG. HOW GORGEOUS.

    Like

    1. Hahaha, thanks! Where we went swimming there wasn’t snow, but it was pretty damn cold anyway. About half the motivation was that anyone who did it got a Reese’s pieces chocolate. But it was quite refreshing. Thanks! I tend to take mountains for granted, having lived near them a large portion of my life, but I shouldn’t.

      Like

Leave a Reply

