Uncategorized

Quick announcement and mini review

Oh hi guys, firstly I’m gonna be away for the next two-ish weeks (this is Shar by the way) and so is Shanti. So there’ll probably be fewer (or hardly any ) posts from us because I was away all this week so I didn’t do any posting or scheduling. Anyway, we’ll be back soon enough, so don’t fret. Also, if where we’re going is pretty, we’ll do pictures.

I just finished The Summer I Turned Pretty, and here are a few hasty thoughts:

Author: Jenny Han

Genre: YA contemporary

Themes: Love, love triangles, summer, brothers, friendship, true meaning of family

The basic idea is there’s this girl called Belly who has gone to her mother’s friends hummer house every summer of her life. She’s also loved one of Susannah’s (her mum’s friend) sons her whole life. But they’ve never noticed her, and the boys (Conrad, Jeremiah and her brother Steven) are always leaving her out of their activities.  But somethings changed this summer. Somehow, boys have started noticing her. With summer the most constant part of her life, Belly has to deal with how everything’s changing.

So I was super excited for this book, ever since I read Burn for Burn. I finally got it from my digital library, and I had really high hopes for it. Unfortunately, they didn’t prevail. 

But firstly, the good things: I liked Belly’s character, and Susannah the premise, the setting, in a beach house.

but

I thought that the romance was ridiculous. There was almost a love square (well there were 3 boys. I just didn’t get it). And I really didn’t ship Belly with the person she ended up with. I don’t think any of the characters were very round, and because we only see Belly in the summer, I didn’t fully understand her character and who she was at school. I also found the flashbacks unecceray, irrelevant and confusing. The ending was unsatisfying and made no sense

Anyway, this is supposed to be mini. So:

Premise: 4/5

Character: 2/5

Setting: 4/5

Style: 4/5

Plot: 2/5

Total: 2/5

5 thoughts on “Quick announcement and mini review

  1. Yeah, I didn’t ship the person she end up with too and I’m sometimes confused when I read this book.. I think that the other Jenny Han’s book are much better than this one..

    Like

Leave a Reply

