books

Stacking the Shelves (2)

Shar: Hello readers! Today Shanti and I went shopping for the first time in ages. We happened to stop at a secondhand bookshop. Delight ensued. (aside: when does something stop being secondhand and therefore cheap and become retro, antique, and vintage, and therefore expensive.) Anyway, for that reason we decided to do another stacking the shelves, hosted by Tynga’s reviews. Also, yeah, I haven’t been blogging much! Sorry! I’ll explain why later. 

The most boring cover ever
The most boring cover ever
because a) I saved tinsel from christmas and b) tinsel and c) sense making
because a) I saved tinsel from christmas and b) tinsel and c) sense making
4 stars
4 stars

Shanti:Lots of books! Yay! I got Days of Blood and Starlight and the High Lord and Sunshine. I already read DoBaS and it was good, but rereading is great, right? I’m also really proud of having accumulated an entire trilogy. I know most people like matching covers, but to me it is really awesome that I have three pre loved books with unmatching covers from different publishers. Maybe its just me, though. Right now I’m reading quite a few books. I just finished Disruption by Jessica Shirvington, I’m reading another book for English class, I’m reading Collapse by Jared Diamond and Emma by Jane Austen and I’m about to start Storyspinner by Becky Wallace. I also have quite a few books (Magonia! Ember in the Ashes! The Secrets We Keep! Challenger Deep!) out from the library and several titles on hold, so I’ve mandated a library ban for the moment.

I think this’ll be a good book, since Trudi Canavan is amazing. I”m also really proud of owning an entire series.
This is a vampire novel, but it looks like a fresh take on the genre. I thought that the sunshine was appropriate, and I'm excited to read it. .
This is a vampire novel, but it looks like a fresh take on the genre. I thought that the sunshine was appropriate, and I’m excited to read it.
.
This is a beautiful book. I HAVE  already read it, but I am a rereader and I'm definitely going to reread it. Also, it's beautiful.
This is a beautiful book. I HAVE already read it, but I am a rereader and I’m definitely going to reread it. Also, it’s beautiful.
Days of Blood and starlight is a bit of a sad book, so I though the nice daisy would cheer it up :)
Days of Blood and starlight is a bit of a sad book, so I though the nice daisy would cheer it up 🙂

Shar: Well for English I’m reading The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, which apparently won a Pulitzer prize. From the first 50 (exactly 50) pages it’s been… interesting. I finished Jane Eyre (finally! I kinda disagreed with the ending) so I’m off my library hiatus.    I tried to ignore Shanti going crazy in the book shop, even though I kinda  went crazy in the library, and I was like ‘I wanna reread all these good books now I am free of Jane Eyre.  But then all these new books look so good!!! Arghghghgh decisions are so hard why is life so unfair?’ So I got one reread and one not.  Heist Society by Ally Carter is pretty good, and I love Kat. I finished that yesterday (I think I’ve read it twice before). I got Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas and from the first 3 chapters it’s bound to be intriguing. Last week I read Bumped and Thumped by Megan McCafferty, (technically I hadn’t finished Jane Eyre so I wasn’t supposed to but I also read this song will save your life, How to be bad and a few others while in the middle of Jane Eyre, because multitasking on reading is a bad habit I’m proud of.) which both had an interesting take on teen pregnancy, dystopia, morality, and twins. I’ve read them both before, Bumped twice and Thumped once, but that was last year, and I’m a chronic rereader. (Why try to find new books when you can enjoy your favourites over and over again?)

Shanti: I’ve also been busy with school and studying. Luckily I mostly like my teachers, the trauma of course selection is over and I find my courses interesting, but I have been keeping busy (and not reading so much, sadly) *I am aware that my’not reading so much’ is someone else’s ‘reading a lot’ but still* This is a picture of my bed (also known as my studying centre) at the moment if you want an idea.DSC02400
Shar: If you’ve been wondering why I haven’t been blogging, it’s a combination of procrastination and a lot of work. This week I had a concert and dress rehearsal and went to two other concerts (two of my siblings also performed, and we were required to go). This week I had a maths test, chemistry internal exam, bio, history, and RE quiz and some homework and things. And then there was just normal school and practicing for two instruments and running and just general flailing. I have some more externals coming up but I’ve finished all the actual subject matter for a lot of classes and it’s just chilling/projects/revising so that’s hopefully better. Anyway, yeah, I’m just one of those insanely busy teenagers. But I will try to keep blogging and reading people’s blogs. 

So how do you balance blogging and school/work/other stuff? What books have you got recently? Are you a tidy person (like Shar) who can’t function in a really messy room, or like Shanti who ‘will tidy up tomorrow’ (or so she claims). Do you like external exams? (because that would be weird)  What has been making you busy recently? P.S we’ll fix the horrible formatting later 🙂

7 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (2)

  1. Wow, that looks like a delicious book haul! Throne of Glass should be a fun read 🙂 And the daisy is a nice addition to Days of Blood and Starlight — REALLY want to read that series :/

    Like

  2. Throne of Glass is AMAZING! It’s kind of like the hunger games crossed with lotr crossed with assassins. You’ll love it.

    Like

    1. yeah I’m definitely getting the hunger games vibes! It’s enjoyable. And I ship Celeana with chaol so much (but don’t tell me what happens because I don’t want to know. I REALLY don’t want a love triangle)

      Like

  3. Gorgeous photography! 🙂 I think I’m a biiiiiit of a messy person, but then again once my room gets to the stage where I cannot find something I’m looking for — THEN I’ll get off my butt and clean it. 😉 I think the best way to balance blogging with everything else in life is to snatch those calm moments, what few they are, and use them to your advantage. Hence why I love to schedule my posts in advance.

    Like

    1. Yeah I’m a little lazy with scheduling posts. I took the pictures of the books I read and Shanti of the ones she read, but she’s more of a photographer than me. Thanks! -Shar 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

