book review

How To Be Bad

By Shar ‘Sup peoples of the internet (I really need to work on my greetings). So 2 weeks ago I read How To Be Bad by E. Lockheart, Sarah Mylwonski, and Lauren Myracle. I have since had a lot of exams and work, which continue, but blogging is, after all, a great way to procrastinate. I mostly enjoyed it, I think it would be about 3.5 stars. There was and interesting plot and premise, and strong characters, but I didn’t like the boy-centredness in a way for 2 of the MCs and I found a few events unbelievable. Also I have to work on remembering what actually happened, since I read it so long ago (okay, two weeks isn’t even that long, but it feels very long to me. I have had a short life I guess.) Anyway, Precious@clockworkdesires did this book interview thing the other day and I found it a really interesting way to review something so I’m going to do that now.

Title of Book: How To Be Bad (a novel)

Authors: Sarah Mylwonski, Lauren Myracle, E. Lockheart

Genre: Contemporary YA

Themes: Romance, road trips, friendship, florida, unlikely strangers meet and come together to be BFFs while all dealing with their own problems.

Interveiwer: Welcome, How To Be Bad! Just as an icebreaker, how do you feel about your name?

How To Be Bad: I like it. It suits me, since it’s so bad a**.

Interviewer(quickly): We cannot endorse anything the interviewee says. Anyway, what do you think was the point of writing you? How do Unknownyou feel about your authors?

HTBB: I think it was about friendship and love and the power of road trips. I liked how these really intense exciting things happened in me, and my favourite part was the crocodile chase. I think my authors were pretty d*mn awesome, and I think they each managed to create strong, interesting characters who made all the events contained within my tome. I was written to show the power of friendship and loyalty and forgiveness.

Interviewer: Try to use polite language, Bad. Your character’s badness didn’t affect their language. Anyway, it’s been a few years (about 6) since you were published. What do you think has changed since then?

HTBB: I think there is a lot of universalness in my themes, and a road trip with friends or strangers can happen at any time (providing characters own a car, and you know, they’ve been invented, and people are actually alive and there are roads and things. Whatever, I’m pretty universal). But when I think about some of the technology I’m about, I must say I cringe. Brick phones were cool! Like what even? Not everybody could afford one and now they cost about 3 dollars! Also, My Space was actually a thing! In fact, I was born out of a MySpace conversation. And my characters used it. None of my modern readers even get MySpace, and when I think about how Facebook has taken over I feel a little outdated.

Interviewer: Don’t feel bad, Bad. (under her breath) Yeah, I don’t even get MySpace. It seems dumb. (In a louder voice) Well, do you have one scene or character whose development you appreciated? What scene exemplified that?

HTBB: Hmmm… I think Jesse developed a lot. She had the idea for the road trip, partly to spend time with Vicky and also get away. And she doesn’t tell her mother she’s gone, and spends a lot of time judging Vicky and Mel. But the scene when she’s by herself in the car at the end of the novel, thinking about how her two friends and their trip had changed her and trying to let go of her judgment and forgiving her mother… I hope I’m not spoiling anything for the listeners. Anyway, I found that scene within my incredible pages especially poignant.

Interviewer: One last question. Why do you think your setting is Florida?

HTBB: Let me first say that while I love all countries of the world (especially ones where I am bought), I am a Floridan through and through. Being in Florida allowed a lot of interesting scenes- Waffle houses, swimming pools, Disney Land ,hurricanes, even the infamous crocodile chase. One of my authors is Floridan. Being in Florida in summer allowed my authors to put my characters through interesting things that I mentioned above, and besides, it’s pretty bada**.

Interviewer: Thank you, How To Be Bad! Any closing comments?

HTBB: I’m not creepy at all, but if you read me, you might find my insides….. bad.

Have you read how to be bad? Or anything by these authors? How do you feel about  collabs? What do you think about this kind of review?

4 thoughts on “How To Be Bad

  1. The name really is loads of fun 😀 😀 I love your interviewer’s sass! And true, things die out really quickly so it’s hard for contemporaries to sound, well, contemporary instead of dated. And ooh, Florida, that’s a nice place! Loved the Disney World there 😄

    Like

    1. I’ve never been to Disney world, or the US, but I have friends from their. Thanks! I dod think contemporaries have to run a fine line between referencing whatever’s cool then (if there were any references I missed them) and remembering the timelessness of a published story. 😀

      Like

  2. I haven’t heard or read this book buuuut, E. Lockhart?! I LOVED WE WERE LIARS SO MUCH. So I’m muchly tempted to dig this one out…I wonder if my library has it. 😄 I loved this style of review too, btw. Oohh, I do get squinty when books are heavily dependant on references like “myspace” because it does get so outdated so fast. But I mean, most of the current YA talks about IPhones and facebook, so I guess one day we’ll be laughing at them too?? And eventually we’ll be historical fiction?! >_< HAHA. That's sooo weird to consider.

    Like

    1. Woah that historical fiction thing is just such a weird thought. I guess it seems like modern at the time, and then things progress, so that’s something to keep in mind when writing 😀 .Yes, I loved We We Liars too, but I think that this one is significantly lighter and quite fun. But I also think that I liked the friendship rather than romance emphasis. Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

