Uncategorized

The end of the week

It’s the end of the week and I feel obliged to post. Unfortunately, I have not finished any books this week (oh the horror!) mainly due to school. I HAVE started The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, at the recommendation of my friend Anna, and it’s amazing. I feel like I lack much content to post about so this will be a short post about my impressions of TGWCFIASOHOM (seriously, this is an extreme mouthful, even the acronym. I’m gonna call it fairy land for short) . And BONUS! I will also show you the art I started making this afternoon, although I have no idea what it’s about.

This book is different. Apparently after the authour wrote it she couldn’t get it published anywhere, so she semi-self published or something? (I don’t know the details, but Shanti tells me it was supported by Kickstart or something?). It reminds me in some ways of Larklight by Phillip Reeve (which I never finished, but schematics. The writing just seems similar), and also The Key To Rondo by Emily Rodda.

I think it’s set in the 2nd world war (but I could be wrong) about a girl who lives in Omaha, Nebraska. She doesn’t really like her rather mundane life so when the Green Wind comes and asks if she want to go to Fairyland, she immediately says yes. She doesn’t feel like a heroine in all the novels she loves reading,  but knows that this is going to be a lot more interesting than her life at home washing teacups with a pleasant dog and her mother always away.

So what do I like so much about this book that makes me post about it before finishing it?

oh the awesomeness (see the half finished ship? It's like I planned it (I didn't plan it)
oh the awesomeness (see the half finished ship? It’s like I planned it (I didn’t plan it)

It’s refreshing, despite using a lot of elements from other fantasy books (e.g main character is whisked from home for adventures in another world). The authour addresses the reader, and has ‘interludes’ where the topic is changed to focus on another character somewhere else. There are gorgeous illustrations. At the beginning of each chapter there is a ‘in which’ which prepares me for the event of the next chapters. While having a lot of normal fantastical characters, there are some utterly original ones (e.g a wairwolf, only a wolf during a full moon or a lady made of soap, or a pookie, or a wyvery (half wyvern.dragon thingy, half library) along with the gnomes, witches, and fairies). There is all this beautiful language, and real personification (e.g a jacket that wants to please it’s owner, and gets ruffled and has emotions and things. It’s adorable.)

Is there anything I dislike?

Well, I’m very picky on endings, so I can’t say whether I’ll like it or not. If it just leads up to another book that will make me very annoyed.  Also, I don’t feel like I know September, the main character very well, as there’s not really any backstory, and I don’t really understand,for example, why she misses home. But the secondary characters are amazing! Also, some things are a little confusing and never actually explained, like the city made of cloth or the Marquess’s youth (these aren’t really spoilers, I promise)

Okay, that’s all for now. I got this book from Auckland Libraries (e libraries, I don’t live in Auckland so otherwise that might be hard)

2 thoughts on “The end of the week

Leave a Reply

