Uncategorized

Life in Outer Space

By Shar

Today I went surfing! I wasn’t super good at it but I tried and managed to stand up and all that. Nobody thought of getting photos though. I’ve almost finished Miss Peregrine and I’ve also started Skullduggery Pleasant, which seems rather good too ( This was because Miss Peregrine was becoming too creepy to read at night, but I get scared easily. Like, when I was 12 I got nightmares from The Lord of the Rings and the Neverending story) But anyway…

Life in Outer Space by Melissa Kiel

Genre: Australian Contemporary YA

Themes: Romance, high school, new kids, cliques, learning to love life (I don’t feel like I’m much good at themes)

First Impressions: The titles was very irrelevant, the romance was a bit obvious, it was cute,

We don't have many physical books on holiday
We don’t have many physical books on holiday

Summary: Sam and his friends are at the bottom of the soial ladder at the Melbourne high school. But when Camilla Carter arrives, she upsets the entire social food chain. Popularity doesn’t matter to her and she’s friends with everyone, especially movie-crazy Sam, his karate-mad best friend MIke, small, anime-loving Allison, and short, vivacious Adrian. Sam’s always een desperate to get out of high school as soon as possible, but Camilla’s arrival begins to change his mind. As Camilla and Sam become better friends, Sam’s gonna have to learn to enjoy his life and live in the present.

What I liked: Strong voice/character, movie references, making a mundane setting special, secondary characters

What I disliked: Not getting all the movie references (a vast majority were references to horror movies, which I’ve never watched, nor do I want to (see introductory italics), so I probaly never will understand these) many events not well developed, fairly cliched, obvious, and predictable, etc.DSC01800

Favourite Characters:Mike, Adrian, Allison, Camilla, Sam’s mum

Lightness: 4/5

Ending: 2/5 (too obvious and happy, which sounds mean, like I enjoy character’s demises, but in real life everything doesn’t resolve itself at once)

Language: 2/5 (good voice but not beautiful)

Setting: 3/5

Total: 2.5/5

4 thoughts on “Life in Outer Space

  1. Aw it’s a shame that you didn’t love this one all that much, Shar! I get that pop culture references tend to be an annoyance especially when you don’t get them. I did have a similar feeling when I read this one too! I still liked it but I can see where you’re coming from.

    Lovely review! <33

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah but oh well. I had similar feelings about the incredible adventures of cinnamon girl, but I liked Life in Outer space better. Maybe I’m just not a pop culture expert (Actually I know this). Sorry I told so long to reply! -Shar πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜› (is this an overdose of emoticons?)

      Like

Leave a Reply

