Uncategorized

Airman is Awesome

By Shar

I also wrote this review when I finished the book and I’m posting it now. Recently I was bitten by a turtle (which was my fault) and was a lot of incredible tropical fish, including this really big rainbowy(is that a word) one and lots of others. I’m trying to plow through The Year That Changed the World, (nonfiction homework) which is extremely boring and stupid. I’m also reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, which is slightly creepy but extremely good. I’ll probably post a review when I finish it.

Airman by Eoin Colfer

Genre: Historical fiction

Themes: The race for flight, monarchy,overthrowing evil dictators (triumph of good over evil),growing up because of extenuating circumstances (I don’t know if these are really themes but whatever)

First Impressions: A lot more serious than Artemis Fowl, fun wordplays but serious plot events. Well researched. Fictional island!!

Airman, pose 1
Airman, pose 1

Summary: Conor Broekhart was born on a hot air balloon. So it seems inevitable that growing up in the tiny kingdom of the Saltee Islands, he and his tutor, Victor Vigny, pursue flight doggedly. In his spare time, he plays with his friend, princess Isabella. One fateful afternoon dring a pirate game, they become trapped on the roof of a tower, and only Conor’s ingenuity and passion for flight saves them. When dire circumstances threaten his kingdom, Conor’s  skills will be tested as he becomes the only person who can save the island. Dun dun dunnn (just for dramatic flair)

What I liked: Witty dialogue but serious circumstances, romance but not at the forefrone, good language, complex and clever plot, scientific bits, strong characters, well established within the ficitional setting.

I disliked: Several funny but otherwise unecessary characters who only complicated things, depressingly evil acts, when Conor does stupid things, a few plot points had no lead up/were’nt established

pose 2
pose 2

Lightness: 2/5

Ending: 4/5 (a good time to end but another chapter or a 19 years later thing could have been nice)

Language: 4/5 (really good)

Characters: 4/5

Setting: 5/5

Total: 4/5

Youu might also like: The Montmaray series by Michelle Cooper (Also historical fiction, set in fictional island monarchy)

pose 3
pose 3
3 thoughts on “Airman is Awesome

  1. Um, okay, I OFFICIALLY NEED THIS. I love witty dialogue and serious plot. And I haven’t actually ever finished anything by this author, so YES I am off to google this. *dashes for goodreads*

    Like

Leave a Reply

