Uncategorized

In which I read nonfiction (!!!!!!)

By Shar

This issn’t actually a scheduled post, despite the fact that we’re not at home, we’re in Sri Lanka, which is really exciting and all that. On the way down I averaged a book a day and nobly wrote (on real paper) reviews for all of them, since Shanti the dictator keeps ordering me to write reviews. Can I just say about Sri Lanka: Have you ever ridden a turtle? No, I didn’t think so. Neither had I before today. I don’t have any photos ’cause it was underwater. But I digress.

Title: Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell

Source: A secondhand bookshop in Delhi (and it was about 1 new zealand dollar or 50 rupees)

Genre: Non-fiction

Themes: The elemants of success, the way cultural legacies affect our everyday lives

Summary ( which is hard, cause it was non fiction) : Malcolm Gladwell examines figures from Bill Gates to the Beatles to show how our circumstances, opportunities and how we spend our time rather than our personalities and intellects and wealth alone determine our success. He looks at how cultural legacies, birthyears or months and many other surprising variabless caan affect the making of a true outlier in areas as diverse as takeover litigation (the law of companies buying other companies) to ice hockey to flying planes. Ultimately, he shows how success never depends on just the individual.DSC01645

I liked: How despite this being non-fiction it was as interesting as a novel. It had scintillating (points for vocab) ideas about success e.g the 10,000 hour rule ( doing 10,000 hours of something makes you an expert), rice paddy theory, cultural legacy/ower distance index (PDI) concept. This was fascinating because it challenges the concept that one’s success depends entirely on one’s self. Also, some of the stuff about times it was good to be alive in terms of opportunity that had more context because I had to read 5 chapters of my history book the other week (which wasn’t easy, let me tell you).

I didn’t like: It had very strong evidence that being young for your class/put up a grade was bad for your academic successs, and I technically am (but that happened when I was 10, so before that I had a chance to get ahead or something). Also, they had transcribed  recordings of pilots and co pilots of planes that crashed, which was sad, and a brief page on the way Jamaican slaves were treated made me sick.

Lighness: 1/5 ( 5 is very light)

Ending: 2/5 ( not much summary, only about a page)

Language: 4/5 (sharp, concise, engaging, to the point)

Total: 4/5

You might also like: Blink by Malcolm Gladwell

I’ll take beachy photos later, but it’s dark right now.

Leave a Reply

