Uncategorized

Percy Jackson and stuff

By Shar

Yesterday I decided to have a rest. So I promptly devoured an entire book, because I couldn’t find the one I was reading, (The Circle by Sara B. Elfgren and Mats Strandenberg, which I got from my awesome Swedish friend Sadhvi). It turned out to be sitting outside on a chair exactly where I last left it but anyway, I read Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth in the meantime.

This is the 4th book in the Percy Jackson series and I haven’t read it for ages. (I could have done the ’tis the season of rereading thing and stuff). In this book, Percy, Annabeth, Tyson and Grover go on a quest to the Labyrinth created thousands of years ago by Daedalus, the demigod inventor, to try to find Pan and also stop Luke and his army getting in and invading camp. Here are some things that struck me:

1. This series is more middle grade rather than YA like the Heroes of Olympus series, which is pretty cool if you think about it… the readers are growing up but the literature continues to suit them. Considering that Percy is 14 (turns 15 at the end) in this book, his voice seems slightly immature.

2. Nico! Once you find out the truth about him in House of Hades (no spoilers, people) this book makes me love/pity him even more.

3. The chapter titles rock. For example: ‘I scoop poop’, ‘Nico Buys Happy Meals for the Dead’, ‘I set myself on fire’, and ‘My birthday party takes a dark turn’

DSC01473DSC01471

4. Like I said before, considering his age, Percy has a much younger voice, especially compared to his voice in The Heroes of Olympus roughly 2 years later. It’s kind of unnatural and weird.. Riordan seems to be trying a bit too hard to be funny and appeal to 12-year-old boys. ( Which is great, I guess, I mean, 12 year old boys should read too. And I know for a fact his strategy works since this is one of the only series my 12-year-old brother ever reads. In fact, he gave this book to Shanti and I for christmas, not before he reread first of course. Then again, I gave him The Blood of Olympus for christmas, but not before I’d read it. What can I say? I had nothing else to read and we were travelling). Percy made a whole lot of stupid comments that were just there to be funny. Which is great and all but seriously, when you’re fighting to the death, are you really going to worry about making sarcastic comments and noticing random details. I guess his voice and weird observations could be blamed on his being ADHD and dyslexic. Aanyway…

5.  Percy is so clueless about girls. Like, can’t he tell Annabeth’s jealous? Also, I’d forgotten about a certain incident between them on Mt. St. Helens. And Rachel Dare is really, really awesome. ( For example, the blue plastic hairbrush incident)

6. Lastly, these books take so much research and are actually kind of like education about the classics. I love the way myth and reality is melded together and this is generally really well written. I’d give it maybe 3.75 stars (can you do that? I think so)

One thought on “Percy Jackson and stuff

Leave a Reply

