Uncategorized

Heroines (are far more awesome than I am)

I really overuse the word awesome. But it is such a great, awesome, word in general.

So I saw this tag on Paper Fury and thought I’d do it, since it is holidays, Shar didn’t post last week, and heroines are…awesome… and most of the books I read have female protagonists. Lets get right to it.

1. Which heroine would you trade places with?

Most of the characters in books I read have far bigger problems than I do. And more pain (and more adventures). I wouldn’t mind trading places with Emily from Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. Most of her challenges aren’t physically painful, she has awesome friends, and I picture her in perpetual summertime, which( on a windy December day) is actually very appealing. Summer in temperate regions of the world aren’t as hot or cold extreme as they can get elsewhere.

2. Which heroine would you push off a cliff and hope that there are some very jagged rocks at the bottom ?

I don’t really enjoy pushing people off cliffs (not that I’ve tried). They may not deserve jagged rocks, but Maugerite from A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Grey was highly irritating and America Singer from the Selection by Keira Cass  spent two books moaning about her background, but the only action she took was dithering between two guys (Team Maxon all the way). I think that a Pirates of the Caribbean style fall into cold water might have made them a little more sensible.

3. Heroine you couldn’t care less about? They’re so bland they don’t even bring out the hate in you?

Alaska in Looking For Alaska by John Green didn’t mean anything to me except as a plot device. She was just there to make it interesting for Pudge (was that his name? Was it Miles or something?)

4. Heroine you didn’t think you’d like but did and vice versa?

I didn’t think I’d like Cassandra from I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith, because I knew the basic premise of the plot. But she was very endearing, with amusing predicaments, passionate feelings, honesty about herself and she still actually loved her sister. I listened to an abridged audio first and didn’t like it that much, but then I read the book, and it was much better.

I thought that I would like Hope from Beyond Our Stars by Marie Langager, but she was downright annoying. I read this book ages ago (like early 2014) and I can’t quite remember why…

5. Side heroine who is much more interesting than the real heroine?

No one jumps immediately to mind…but I would have loved to her more stories about the girls Cassia works with in Crossed, at the start. And more about Christina, who is so ordinary, yet courageous, in Divergent by Veronica Roth. But I do understand why the viewpoints that were chosen were chosen.

6. Which heroine would you like as your friend?

Well, Sabriel, from Sabriel by Garth Nix, is amazing. She is courageous and valiant and friendly and awesome. I think that she would make a great friend. Scarlet, from Scarlet by Marissa Meyer, would be an excellent friend. She is very loyal, has great ideas and knows how to fly (a cargo hovership), which are all qualities that I value in friends. And Tessa from the Infernal Devices, who loves to read, is quiet, not afraid to ask questions, and lives in London.

7. Which heroine do you wish would just CHOOSE (between the participants in her love triangle)?

Side note: Why do most love triangles have one girl and two guys? The only time I remember it happening the other way is in the Death Cure.

I like Julian (from the Delirium trilogy by Lauren Oliver) MUCH better.(CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR PANDEMONIUM AND REQUIEM) In Pandemonium and Requiem, Lena has changed from the quiet girl exploring the boundaries of her society. She has seen death, and experienced terror and become a more resilient person. Sure, Alex is sweet, but by book two he is bitter and confused. Julian is a symbol of how Lena has changed, and I like her better with him. In a world where the right to love is being challenged, Julian and Lena’s relationship is gentle, the calm of the storm, and I like that. I also need resolution that I’m not going to get on this series.

8. “Bad girl” heroine?

Manon, in Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas, is evil but you can still identify with her ( but she’s not a protagonist though) Holly Short gets into all kinds of trouble, but you love her anyway.

Clariel from the Abhorsen books by Garth Nix, gets into evil magic, but she is still awesome. Even though you know that she ends up on the dark side, her actions make sense, at least to her.

9. “Good girl” heroine?

Sophia from the Montmaray Journals by Michelle Cooper always tries to make the right decisions. She is very sweet and thoughtful, and patient with her mad housekeeper, unruly sister, overbearing aunt and irritating boss (in various circumstances) She deals with everything World War 2/ the events leading up to it with a level head and a lot of kindness.

10. Favourite heroine of them all? (If you can’t choose pick your top three)

DECISIONS ARE HARD (and there is some pretty fierce competition)

Chanda from Chanda’s Wars by Allan Stratton. She is loyal, helps me understand her choices, and lives a life WAY different to mine which I still understand. She is really courageous and thoughtful.

Elisa from The Girl of Fire and Thorns books by Rae Carson. She is very brave, will do anything for her country, accepting of all sorts of people and resourceful in ever situation.

Rose from Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein, which I finished today. (it was grueling). I love that Rose loves language like I do, that she doesn’t exactly prosper, but is able to form connections under terrible circumstances, that she is tenacious even while “under fire”

( I bought this beauty yesterday)
some of my favourite books and heroines

( I finished the short story collection yesterday- it was awesome)

One thought on “Heroines (are far more awesome than I am)

  1. Ooh, so glad you did the tag too! It’s awesome, right?!! XD I totally could NOT change places with Emily though. I love that book to death but aghhhh her LIST. I am an extremely shy introvert, which I suppose was the point of the book but no no no her list terrified me. lol
    I do wish there were more variations on love-triangles, like 2 girls and 1 guy. But I think it happens the other way because authors are mostly girls and maybe the subtly like the idea of two guys chasing them?? Lol I’m kidding. XD
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

Leave a Reply

