Uncategorized

Small Reviews.

These are the books that I have checked from the library right now. Except for, you know, a few that were in other locations, like Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi (it has a Frozenesque cover which is amazing) and one (Blankets by Craig Thompson) which was to thick to balance properly.

These are some of my experiments in book sculpture(its so beautiful, if I say so myself)

the idea was being able to see all the covers. it didn't work as much as I wanted. :(
the idea was being able to see all the covers. it didn’t work as much as I wanted. 😦

DSC00704

(it looks less like a heart than I want it to)
(it looks less like a heart than I want it to)

I’m going to do quick reviews of some of these books, because some of them were very cool.

This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

You know how when you read a book where the characters are very passionate about something, and then It makes you fascinated by it too. That was this book for me. I loved the story, and Elise was a very appealing character-her dilemmas and interactions were chronicled kindly and well. Her determination to live and keep hoping were wonderful. I loved the moment when the girl goes “You did it wrong” and Elise says “no, I didn’t”I really liked her brother and sister, and Char irritated me but Vicky was wonderful. I think her understanding of herself, and her needs, touched this whole book.
It says L-O-V-E on the cover, but its love for DJing, not Char or other boys, and love for her family, and how that love affects Elises’ actions and this novel.

Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

This book was good. Filled with the hope that comes from reclaiming beauty from the shattering, it showed the truth and beauty and ugliness, and idiosyncrasies of high school, Kennie, Liam, Julia and, most of all, Liz. I think that only the prologue and the epilogue needed the narrator-everything else could have been in third person. The story was told with almost frightening calculation and every single word mattered. Tragically hopeful.
Liz was really an object at rest though, I think. Until the very end she chose to take the expected past that salvaged her face and crumbled everyone elses’ until she imploded, and drove her car off a cliff.

The FitzOsbournes in Exile by Michelle Cooper

Every single time I read this book, I am drawn in by its magic. Sophias determination and kindness and humor are all very appealing. The historical aspect is very well researched and intriguing, and it gives the book an excellent setting. Sophie always has the best plans, and it is amazing to see her navigate the social pathways of Society life. I read this and called it “studying ” for my history exam. The characters are all well written and thought out, and the situations are very amusing.

Let It Snow, by John Green, Lauren Myracle and Maureen Johnson.

I really liked curling up with this book. In all three stories, the wintry parts were enough to make me shiver. I particularly liked the snark of the first story (particularly the bureaucracy moment) and the way the stories were woven together. Very cute and funny stories.

The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet by Bernie Su and Kate Rorick.

I loved the webseries, so i was obviously eager to read this book. It was really interesting having insight into off-camera events and what happened. And Lizzies eventual understanding of her shortcomings and compassion for Lydia are even more powerful in the diary. Also seeing Lizzies relationship with her parents is a lot more interesting in the book, rather than acted out. I would love an Emma one of these- Harriets planner with space for you to add notes or something.

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins.

Lola is such a great character. I must say, though I’m not into elaborate clothes, I admire her sense of style. This story is pretty cute. Cricket is a great character-and inventor! which is awesome, and Calliope is so much more awesome than I realised. I think I would have preferred this story in the third person though.

Thats it! .When I finish Unravel me, I’m going to read the Bitter Kingdom. Or Champion. Or I’ll Give You The Sun. Or Code Name Verity.

I love libraries.

Leave a Reply

